Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Lieutenant Governors of Minnesota

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Karl Rolvaag, Governor (1913 - 1990)
    Fritjof Rolvaag (July 18, 1913 – December 20, 1990) was an American diplomat and politician who served as the 31st Governor of Minnesota from March 25, 1963, to January 2, 1967, as a member of the Demo...
  • Donald O. Wright (1892 - 1985)
    Orr Wright Sr. (November 18, 1892 – July 24, 1985) was a United States Republican politician from the state of Minnesota. He served in the state legislature and rose to the office of President pro Temp...
  • Archie H. Miller (1886 - 1958)
    H. Miller (June 8, 1886 – February 11, 1958) was the 32nd Lieutenant Governor of Minnesota.Miller was born in Hopkins, Minnesota. He served as a state senator from 1931 to 1943, and became Lieutenant G...
  • Edward L. Thye, Governor, U.S. Senator (1896 - 1969)
    Edward John Thye, a Senator from Minnesota; born on a farm near Frederick, Brown County, S.Dak., April 26, 1896; moved in early childhood to Minnesota with his parents who settled on a farm near Northf...
  • William B. Richardson (1874 - 1945)
    Burdette Richardson (November 10, 1874 – September 19, 1945) was a Republican Party Minnesota politician who served as Mayor of Rochester, Minnesota and in the Minnesota Senate.Life and careerRichardso...

In 1886 elections were moved from odd years to even years. Beginning with the 1962 election, the term of the lieutenant governor increased from two to four years. Prior to the 1974 election, governors and lieutenant governors were elected on separate ballots. Marlene Johnson, elected in 1982 as the running mate of Rudy Perpich, was the first female lieutenant governor of Minnesota. All seven of her successors in that office have also been women.

List of lieutenant governors of Minnesota