Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Linn County, Iowa.

Official Website

Linn County was created as a named but unorganized area on December 21, 1837, as a part of Wisconsin Territory. It became part of Iowa Territory on July 4, 1838 when the territory was organized. It was named in honor of Senator Lewis F. Linn of Missouri.

Adjacent Counties


  • Alburnett
  • Bertram
  • Cedar Rapids (County Seat)
  • Center Point
  • Central City
  • Coggon
  • Ely
  • Fairfax
  • Hiawatha
  • Lisbon
  • Marion
  • Mount Vernon
  • Palo
  • Prairieburg
  • Robins
  • Springville
  • Walford
  • Walker

Other Towns, Townships & Communities: Boulder, Brown, Buffalo, Clinton, College, Covington, Fayette, Franklin, Grant, Ivanhoe, Jackson, Lafayette, Linn, Maine, Monroe, Otter Creek, Putnam, Spring Grove, Toddville, Troy Mills, Washington, Waubeek, Western, Whittier and Viola


Cemeteries of Iowa



National Register of Historic Places

USS Linn County LST-900

Genealogical Society of Linn County

IA Gen Web

Genealogy Trails

Genealogy Express


History of Linn County, Iowa - Brewer & Wick (a Project Gutenberg e-book)