Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.
view all


  • Edward R. Good (1918 - 2002)
  • Newton Wesley Rowell (1867 - 1941)
    Newton Wesley Rowell, PC KC (November 1, 1867 – November 22, 1941) was a Canadian lawyer and politician and leading lay figure in the Methodist church. Rowell led the Ontario Liberal Party from 1911 to...
  • George Horace Gooderham (1868 - 1942)
    George Horace Gooderham was a Canadian businessman and politician. From 1908 to 1919, he was a Conservative member in the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, representing Toronto South and then Toronto So...
  • Rev. Henry John Cody, CMG (1868 - 1951)
    John Cody CMG (December 6, 1868 – April 27, 1951) was a Canadian clergyman and President of the University of Toronto from 1932 to 1945 and Chancellor from 1944 to 1947.Born in Embro, Ontario, the elde...
  • David Caplan (1964 - 2019)
    Caplan (November 15, 1964 – July 25, 2019) was a Canadian politician in Ontario, Canada. He was a member of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario who represented the ridings of Oriole and Don Valley East...

The Legislative Assembly of Ontario (also known as Ontario Legislative Assembly or Parliament of Ontario),[1] is the legislature of the Canadian province of Ontario, and is the second largest provincial legislature of Canada by number of members. It meets at the Ontario Legislative Building at Queen's Park in the provincial capital, Toronto.

The Legislative Assembly has existed since 1867 when the British North America Act, 1867 severed the Province of Canada into two new provinces, with the portion then called Canada West becoming Ontario. Section 69 of the British North America Act section 69 stipulates "There shall be a Legislature for Ontario consisting of the Lieutenant-Governor and of One House, styled the Legislative Assembly of Ontario". The Legislative Assembly is unicameral, without an upper house, with 107 seats representing electoral districts ("ridings") elected through a first-past-the-post electoral system across the province.

Like the Canadian federal government, Ontario uses a Westminster-style parliamentary government, in which members are elected to the Legislative Assembly through general elections and from there the party with the most seats chooses a Premier of Ontario and Executive Council of Ontario. The premier acts as Ontario's head of government, while the Queen of Canada acts as its head of state. The leader of the party with the second-most seats in the House becomes the Leader of the Opposition.

The Ontario Legislature is sometimes referred to as the "Ontario Provincial Parliament". Members of the assembly refer to themselves as "Members of the Provincial Parliament" (MPPs) as opposed to "Members of the Legislative Assembly" (MLAs) as in many other provinces. Ontario is the only province to do so, in accordance with a resolution passed in the Assembly on April 7, 1938. However, the Legislative Assembly Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. L10 refers only to "members of the Assembly".

Welcome to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario