Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Navy Distinguished Service Medal

view all


  • Rear Admiral Wilson Flagg (1938 - 2001)
    Falor "Bud" Flagg (October 26, 1938 - September 11, 2001) served in the United States Navy, achieving the rank of Rear Admiral. On October 15, 1993, he was censured for failing to prevent the 1991 Tail...
  • Major General Rathvon M. Tompkins (1912 - 1999)
    Rathvon McClure Tompkins (August 23, 1912 – September 17, 1999) was a highly decorated United States Marine Corps major general. He saw combat in World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War and led...
  • Major General Bruno Hochmuth (1911 - 1967)
    Bruno Arthur Hochmuth (May 10, 1911 – November 14, 1967) was a United States Marine Corps major general who was killed in South Vietnam during the Vietnam War. He was the first and only Marine Corps ...
  • Vice Admiral Evan Peter Aurand (1917 - 1989)
    Evan Peter Aurand (June 10, 1917 – June 7, 1989) was an American naval officer with the rank of Vice Admiral. He was a son of Lieutenant General Henry Aurand.
  • Lt. Gen. John Clifford Hodges Lee, USA (1887 - 1958)
    John's birth, military, photograph, and death information are available in his extensive and excellent biography at

Navy Distinguished Service Medal:

The Navy Distinguished Service Medal is a military decoration of the United States Navy and United States Marine Corps which was first created in 1919 and is presented to sailors and Marines to recognize distinguished and exceptionally meritorious service to the United States while serving in a duty or position of great responsibility.

Navy Distinguished Service Medal is equivalent to the Army's Distinguished Service Medal, Air Force and Space Force's Air Force Distinguished Service Medal, and the Coast Guard Distinguished Service Medal. The Navy Distinguished Service Medal was originally senior to the Navy Cross, until August 1942 when the precedence of the two decorations was reversed. Currently, it is worn after the Defense Distinguished Service Medal and before the Silver Star Medal.