Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Air and Space Forces)

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Brent Scowcroft, KBE, U.S. National Security Advisor (1925 - 2020)
    Scowcroft, KBE (born March 19, 1925) was the United States National Security Advisor under Presidents Gerald Ford and George H. W. Bush and a Lieutenant General in the United States Air Force. He also ...
  • Private
  • Lieutenant General Edgar S. Harris Jr. (1925 - 2018)
    Edgar Starr Harris Jr. (May 14, 1925 – October 13, 2018) was an American Air Force lieutenant general whose last assignment was commander of Eighth Air Force, Strategic Air Command, with headquarters...
  • Lieutenant General Alvan Cullem Gillem II (1917 - 2009)
    Alvan Cullem Gillem II (April 20, 1917 – September 3, 2009) was a United States Air Force officer who reached the rank of lieutenant general. his military history
  • James C. Slife
    James C. Slife (born 1967) is a lieutenant general who serves as the deputy chief of staff for operations of the United States Air Force since December 2022. He served as the commander of Air Force ...

The Distinguished Service Medal (DSM) is a military decoration of the United States Air Force and United States Space Force and is presented to airmen and guardians to recognize distinguished and exceptionally meritorious service to the United States while serving in a duty or position of great responsibility. The Distinguished Service Medal was created by an act of the United States Congress on July 6, 1960 and was first awarded in 1965. Prior to the creation of the Distinguished Service Medal in 1960, United States Air Force airmen were awarded the Army Distinguished Service Medal.

The Distinguished Service Medal is equivalent to the Army's Distinguished Service Medal, Naval Service's Navy Distinguished Service Medal, and the Coast Guard Distinguished Service Medal.

The interpretation of the phrase "great responsibility" means that this medal is generally awarded only to officers who hold at least the rank of major general. However, as is customary for most military decorations, the requirements for the Distinguished Service Medal are interpreted more liberally when awarded upon retirement. As a result, it is the typical decoration for a retiring brigadier general, and in recent years it has also been awarded to the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force upon retirement. Cases of the award of this decoration to an individual who was not a general officer, or the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force, are unusual. Two notable exceptions are astronauts Colonel Buzz Aldrin and Colonel David Scott (who flew on Gemini 8, Apollo 9, and Apollo 15) who was awarded the medal twice.

Recipients during the medal's first 6 years included General Emmett E. "Rosie" O'Donnell Jr. (a United States Air Force four-star general who served as Commander in Chief, Pacific Air Forces from 1959 to 1963). O'Donnell also led the first B-29 Superfortress attack upon Tokyo during World War II after the 1942 Doolittle Raid. Another early recipient of the Distinguished Service Medal was Major General Osmond J. Ritland, USAF, who received his medal on November 30, 1965, upon his retirement.

Additional awards are denoted with oak leaf clusters.

This award is comparable to the Department of the Air Force Decoration for Exceptional Civilian Service given to civilian employees of the Department of the Air Force.