Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

New Zealand Premiers, Prime Ministers and Politicians

view all


From Henry Sewell in 1856 to Jacinda Ardern in 2017, Aotearoa New Zealand has had 40 prime ministers and premiers. In the 19th century these political cabinet-makers were usually known as ‘premiers’ but since 1906, beginning with William Hall-Jones, all the leaders of New Zealand have been sworn in as ‘prime minister’.

Photograph: Michael Joseph Savage the first Labour Prime Minister of New Zealand. He was given the title New Zealander of the Century by The New Zealand Herald in 1999.

Premiers and Prime Ministers who have held office in New Zealand

  1. Sewell, Henry
  2. Fox, William
  3. Stafford, Edward
  4. Domett, Alfred
  5. Whitaker, Frederick
  6. Weld, Frederick
  7. Waterhouse, George
  8. Vogel, Julius
  9. Pollen, Daniel
  10. Atkinson, Harry
  11. Grey, Sir George
  12. Hall, John
  13. Stout, Sir Robert
  14. Ballance, John
  15. Seddon, Richard
  16. Hall-Jones, William
  17. Ward, Sir Joseph
  18. Mackenzie, Thomas
  19. Massey, William
  20. Bell, Sir Francis Henry Dillon
  21. Coates, Gordon
  22. Forbes, George
  23. Savage, Michael Joseph
  24. Fraser, Peter
  25. Holland, Sidney
  26. Holyoake, Keith
  27. Nash, Walter
  28. Marshall, John (Jack)
  29. Kirk, Norman
  30. Rowling, Wallace (Bill)
  31. Muldoon, Robert
  32. Lange, David
  33. Palmer, Geoffrey
  34. Moore, Mike
  35. Bolger, Jim
  36. Shipley, Jenny
  37. Clark, Helen
  38. Key, John
  39. English, Bill
  40. Ardern, Jacinda
  41. Hipkins, Chris

Speaker of the New Zealand House of Representatives

The Speaker of the House of Representatives | Te Mana Whakawā o te Whare is the presiding officer and highest authority of the New Zealand House of Representatives. The individual who holds the position is elected by members of the House from among their number in the first session after each general election. They hold one of the highest-ranking offices in New Zealand. Note: Some names appear twice as they held the position more than once.

  1. Clifford, Sir Charles
  2. Monro, David
  3. Bell, Dillon
  4. Fitzherbert, William
  5. O'Rorke, Maurice
  6. Steward, William Jukes
  7. O'Rorke, Maurice
  8. Guinness, Arthur
  9. Land, Frederic
  10. Statham, Charles
  11. Barnard, Bill
  12. Schramm, Bill
  13. McKeen, Robert
  14. Oram, Matthew
  15. Macfarlane, Robert
  16. Algie, Ronald
  17. Jack, Roy
  18. Allen, alfred E.
  19. Whitehead, Stan
  20. Jack, Roy
  21. Harrison, Richard
  22. Arthur, Basil
  23. Wall, Gerry
  24. Burke, Kerry
  25. Gray, Roin
  26. Tapsell, Peter
  27. Kidd, Doug
  28. Hunt, Jonathan
  29. Wilson, Margaret
  30. Smith, Lockwood,
  31. Carter, David
  32. Mallard, Trevor