Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Ohio General Assembly

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Philander Cole (1815 - 1892)
    Philander Cole was an Ohio State Senator. Philander Blakeslee Cole was the son of James Cole and Jerusha Blakeslee. James and Jerusha were born in New York and married in 1805, later moving to Ohi...
  • Judge Calvin Pease (1776 - 1839)
    Calvin Pease (September 9, 1776–September 17, 1839) was a lawyer and legislator in the U.S. State of Ohio who was in the Ohio Senate, in the Ohio House of Representatives, and an Ohio Supreme Court J...
  • Brevet Brig. General Moses B. Walker (USA) (1819 - 1895)
    Moses Bascom Walker was born in Ohio, attended Augusta College in Kentucky and Yale College. He served one term in the Ohio Senate from 1850 to 1851. Moses Bascom Walker was a member of the 31st Regime...
  • Philemon Beecher, US Congress (1776 - 1839)
    Beecher (March 19, 1776 – November 30, 1839) was an attorney and legislator who was a member of the United States House of Representatives from Ohio.Philemon Beecher was born in Oxford, Connecticut, th...
  • Daniel Sheldon Norton, Sr. (1788 - 1859)
    Mr. Norton set up the first carding machines west of the Allegheny Mountains. He was elected to the State Senate in 1825. He contributed liberally to the establishment of Kenyon College. from: Residenc...

The Ohio General Assembly is the state legislature of the U.S. state of Ohio. It consists of the 99-member Ohio House of Representatives and the 33-member Ohio Senate. Both houses of the General Assembly meet at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus.

The General Assembly first convened in Chillicothe, then the Ohio capital, on March 1, 1803.

The second constitution of Ohio, effective in 1851, took away the power of the General Assembly to only choose the state's executive officers, granting that right to the voters. A complicated formula apportioned legislators to Ohio counties and the number of seats in the legislative houses varied from year-to-year.