Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Ravalli County, Montana

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Ravalli County, Montana.

Official Website

Ravalli County was once home to the Bitterroot Salish tribe. The tribe was first encountered in 1805 by the Lewis and Clark Expedition, which noted their friendly nature. The Catholic Church took an interest in creating a mission in the area, and in 1841 founded St. Mary's Mission, subsequently renamed as Fort Owen. In 1864, the settlement's current name, Stevensville, was adopted. In 1891, the Salish tribe moved to the current Flathead Reservation under the Treaty of Hellgate.

In 1877, Chief Joseph and his Wallowa band of Nez Perce passed through Ravalli County in their attempt to escape confinement to a reservation; they were captured en route to Canada just south of Havre.

Ravalli County was created in 1893 by the Montana Legislature, annexing a portion of Missoula County. It was named after the Italian Jesuit priest Antony Ravalli, who came to the Bitterroot Valley in 1845.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Communities

Alta | Bells Crossing | Charlos Heights | Cinnibar Court | Como | Conner | Corvallis | Darby | Florence | Gorus | Grantsdale | Hamilton | Medicine Hot Springs | Pinesdale | Riverside | Stevensville | Sula | Victor



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places

Bitterroot Nat'l Forest (part)

Lee Metcalf Nat'l Wildlife Refuge

Lolo Nat'l Forest (part)