Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Scott County, Tennessee

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Top Surnames

view all


  • Allen McDonald (1803 - 1862)
    Allen McDonald was born 22 JUN 1803 in Tennessee, and died 25 NOV 1862 in Scott County, Tennessee. He was the son of James McDonald and Sarah Cox. A Merchant, Justice of the peace, Court Clerk and ...
  • William Smith (aft.1820 - bef.1866)
    William Smith was born ABT 1820 in Tennessee, and died BEF 1866. He married Pherbie Jeffers. She was born ABT 1820 in Tennessee, and died after 1880. Children of Pherbie Jeffers and William Smith are:...
  • Pheraba ‘Pherbie’ Smith (aft.1820 - aft.1880)
    Phareba ‘Pherbie’ Jeffers was born ABT 1820 / 1825 in Tennessee and died after 1880. She married Allen McDonald, son of James McDonald and Sarah Cox. He was born 22 JUN 1803 in Tennessee, and died...
  • Isabel Surilla ‘Ibey’ Hembree (c.1856 - 1884)
    Isabel Surilla ‘Ibey’ ‘Rilla’ Smith was born ABT 1856 in Tennessee. She was the daughter of William Smith and Pherbie Jeffers. Family She married Meshack Hembree 16 OCT 1873 in Whitley County, Kent...
  • Meshack Hembree, (USA) (1812 - 1885)
    Meshack Hembree was born 12 SEP 1812 in Knox County, Kentucky, and died 21 JAN 1885 in Scott County, Tennessee. He was the son of John Hembree and Mary Laws. Note: Private, Co. G, 2nd Tennessee Infan...

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Scott County, Tennessee.

Official Website

Scott County was formed in 1849 and is named for U.S. Army General Winfield Scott, a hero of the Mexican War.

During the Civil War, the county was a Southern Unionist bastion, voting against secession from the Union in Tennessee's June 1861 referendum by a higher percentage (521 to 19, or 96%) than in any other Tennessee county. This sentiment was encouraged by a June 4, 1861, speech in Huntsville by U.S. Senator Andrew Johnson. In 1861, the county assembly officially enacted a resolution seceding from the state of Tennessee, and thus the Confederacy, forming the "Free and Independent State of Scott," also known simply as the "State of Scott." The county remained a pro-Union enclave throughout the war. Ulysses S. Grant received over 90% of the vote in Scott County during both the 1868 United States presidential election and the 1872 United States presidential election.

The proclamation was finally repealed, over a hundred years later, by Scott County in 1986. Technically speaking Scott County was an independent state until 1986.

Adjacent Counties

Towns & Communities

  • Elgin
  • Helenwood
  • Huntsville (County Seat)
  • Isham
  • Montgomery
  • New River
  • Oneida
  • Robbins
  • Rugby (part)
  • Winfield
  • Winona



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places

Big South Fork Nat'l River (part)

TN GenWeb