Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Speakers of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

The Speaker of the Alberta Legislative Assembly, is the presiding officer in the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

The Speaker is selected by secret ballot in the first session of a new legislative assembly.

List of Speakers


  • Charles W. Fisher (1905–1920)
  • Charles Pingle (1920–1922)

United Farmers

  • Oran McPherson (1922–1926)
  • George Johnston (1926–1936)

Social Credit

  • Nathan Eldon Tanner (1936–1937)
  • Peter Dawson (1937–1963)
  • Arthur J. Dixon (1963–1972)

Progressive Conservative

  • Gerard Amerongen (1972–1986)
  • David J. Carter (1986–1993)
  • Stanley Schumacher (1993–1997)
  • Ken Kowalski (1997–2012)
  • Gene Zwozdesky (2012–2015)

New Democrat

  • Bob Wanner (2015–Present)