Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

The Kavli Prize Laureates

Project Tags

view all


  • Winfried Denk
    Kavli Prize winner. Winfried Denk (Photo credit: Knut Falch) 2012 Kavli Prize in Neuroscience Learn about Neuroscience Winfried Denk was born in 1957 in Munich. From 1978 to 1981, he studied physics...
  • Ronald W. P. Drever (1931 - 2017)
    Kavli Prize 2016. Astrophysics Gravity waves Born in Renfrewshire, Scotland, Ronald Drever (October 26, 1931 – March 7, 2017) studied at Glasgow University and gained his PhD there in 1958. At Glasgow...
  • George McClelland Whitesides
    George M. Whitesides is an American chemist and professor of chemistry at Harvard University. He is best known for his work in the areas of NMR spectroscopy, organometallic chemistry, molecular self-as...
  • Sumio Iijima
    Sumio Iijima (飯島 澄男, Iijima Sumio, born 2 May 1939) is a Japanese physicist and inventor, often cited as the inventor of carbon nanotubes. Winner of the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience in 2008. Iijimas ha...
  • Christoph Gerber
    Christoph Gerber is a Swiss professor of physics and Director for Scientific Communication of the National Center of Competence for Nanoscale Science at the University of Basel, where he has been since...

The Kavli Prize was established in 2005 through a joint venture between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research, and The Kavli Foundation. Awarded for: outstanding contributions in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience
First awarded: 2008
Reward(s): A gold medal, a scroll, and a monetary award of US$1,000,000
Number of laureates: 24 prizes to 65 laureates (as of 2022)

Kavli Prize laureates


2024: David Brian Charbonneau
2024: Sara Seager


2024: Robert S. Langer, Armand Paul Alivisatos, Chad A. Mirkin


2024: Nancy Kanwisher, Winrich Freiwald, Doris Ying Tsao