Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Samuel B. Axtell, Gov. of the Territories of New Mexico & Utah (1819 - 1891)
    Beach Axtell (October 14, 1819 – August 7, 1891). Notable for: being the most controversial Chief Justice of the New Mexico Territorial Supreme Court; his corrupted administration as Governor of New Me...
  • Mike Leavitt, Governor, U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services
    Okerlund Leavitt (born February 11, 1951) is an American Republican politician. He served as the 14th Governor of Utah from 1993 to 2003, as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency from 20...
  • John W. Dawson, 3rd Governor of the Territory of Utah (1820 - 1877)
    W. Dawson (October 21, 1820 – September 10, 1877) was Governor of Utah Territory in 1861.Born on October 21, 1820, in Cambridge, Indiana he was a lawyer, a farmer and a newspaper editor before he enter...
  • James D. Doty, Gov. of Utah and Wisconsin Terr. (1800 - 1865)
    Duane Doty (November 5, 1799 – June 13, 1865) was a land speculator and politician in the United States who played a large role in the development of Wisconsin and Utah Territory.Early life and legal c...
  • Gary Herbert, Governor
    Richard Herbert (born May 7, 1947) is the 17th and current Governor of the U.S. state of Utah. Having served as the sixth Lieutenant Governor of Utah from 2005 to 2009, he assumed the governorship on A...

The Governor of Utah is the head of the executive branch of Utah's government and the commander-in-chief of its military forces. The governor has a duty to enforce state laws as well as the power to either approve or veto bills passed by the Utah Legislature. The governor may also convene the legislature on "extraordinary occasions".

The self-proclaimed State of Deseret, precursor to the organization of the Utah Territory, had only one governor, Brigham Young. Utah Territory had 15 territorial governors from its organization in 1850 until the formation of the state of Utah in 1896, appointed by the President of the United States. John W. Dawson had the shortest term of only three weeks and Brigham Young, the first territorial governor, had the longest term at seven years.

There have been 17 governors of the State of Utah, with the longest serving being Calvin L. Rampton, who served three terms from 1965 to 1977. Olene S. Walker served the shortest term, the remaining 14 months of Mike Leavitt's term upon Leavitt's resignation to become head of the Environmental Protection Agency. At the age of 36, Heber Manning Wells was the youngest person to become governor. At the age of 70, Simon Bamberger became the oldest person to be elected, while Olene Walker, at age 72, was the oldest person to succeed to the office.

The current governor is Gary Herbert, who took office on August 11, 2009, upon the resignation of Jon Huntsman, Jr., to become United States Ambassador to China. Governor Herbert was elected to fill the remainder of Huntsman's term in November 2010, and his current term will expire on January 7, 2013.

There is an official seal of the Governor of Utah. Borrowing most of the same symbolism from the State Seal, the Governor's seal includes roman numerals at the bottom, which represent the Governor himself, and this changes with every new Governor. Each Governor therefore has a seal unique to themselves and their administration. The roman numerals are currently "XVII", representing Gary Herbert, who is the 17th governor of Utah since Statehood.

List of Governors of Utah