Facebook Social Sharing on Geni

Posted August 31, 2012 by Amanda | 2 Comments

Today we’re excited to introduce Facebook Social Sharing on Geni – a new way to share your Geni experience with your friends and family!

Have you ever been working on a Geni project and wish you could share your progress with your friends? Or perhaps added your latest census discovery to your ancestor’s Geni profile and wanted to share it with your genealogy Facebook buddies? Facebook Social Sharing will easily allow you to share your public Geni activities with your friends and family on Facebook!

The Facebook Social Sharing button can be found at the top right of any Geni page. By default, Social Sharing is turned off for all current users. To activate the feature, simply click to toggle it on. Everyone may turn Social Sharing off at anytime - just click again to turn it off. Note if you already use Facebook Connect to log in to your Geni account, you will need to toggle it on to begin sharing on Facebook. Don’t see Social Sharing on your Geni page? Only Facebook users will see this option, so connect your Facebook account to your Geni account now to start sharing!

What activities will be shared?

Rest assured that we will never share any private updates on Facebook. This means that any private discussions or edits on private profiles will not appear on your Facebook timeline. Only the following public activities will be shared:

  • Starting or replying to a public discussion
  • Adding or editing a public document
  • Starting or editing a project
  • Editing a surname page
  • Adding, updating or merging a public profile

Try out Social Sharing now and share your genealogy adventures with all your friends! You never know who may hold the key to unlocking your family history.

Post written by Amanda

Amanda is the Social Media Coordinator at Geni. If you need any assistance, she will be happy to help!

See all posts by

Share:

  • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=78205250 Erin Pinder Spiceland

    Can we specify a group of people or groups with whom to share? I don’t want to spam all of my friends. Probably only a few of my family members and genealogy contacts would be interested in all of my activity. I’ll turn this on if this is possible, but barring that, I’d rather keep my friends!

  • Michelle

    Yes, when you authorize Facebook there is a pulldown where you can select which group to share the activity with.