Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

United States Cabinet Members

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Ray LaHood, U.S. Secretary of Transportation
    Ray H. LaHood, (father of Darin LaHood), a Representative from Illinois; born in Peoria, Peoria County, Ill., December 6, 1945; graduated from Spalding Institute, Peoria, Ill., 1963; attended Spoon R...
  • Samuel DeLucenna Ingham (1779 - 1860)
    Samuel DeLucenna Ingham Birth: September 16, 1779 Death: June 5, 1860 (80) Son of Jonathan Ingham and Ann Welding Husband of Rebecca Dodd and Deborah Hall Born near New Hope, Pennsylvan...
  • Edwin Thomas Meredith (1876 - 1928)
    Find a Grave Birth: Dec. 23, 1876 Death: Jun. 17, 1928 Presidential Cabinet Secretary, Publisher. He was appointed as United States Secretary of Agriculture during the Woodrow Wilson administra...
  • Lewis B. Schwellenbach, U.S. Secretary of Labor (1894 - 1948)
    Lewis Baxter Schwellenbach, a Senator from Washington; born in Superior, Douglas County, Wis., September 20, 1894; moved to Spokane, Wash., with his parents in 1902; attended the elementary and high ...
  • Bill Brock, U.S. Secretary of Labor
    William Emerson Brock, III, (grandson of William Emerson Brock), a Representative and a Senator from Tennessee; born in Chattanooga, Hamilton County, Tenn., November 23, 1930; attended schools in Loo...

The United States Cabinet (usually referred to as the U.S. President's Cabinet or simplified as the Cabinet) is composed of the most senior appointed officers of the executive branch of the federal government of the United States. Its existence dates back to the first American President, George Washington, who appointed a Cabinet of four people (Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson; Secretary of the Treasury Alexander Hamilton; Secretary of War Henry Knox; and Attorney General Edmund Randolph) to advise and assist him in his duties. Cabinet officers are nominated by the President and then presented to the United States Senate for confirmation or rejection by a simple majority. If approved, they are sworn in and begin their duties. Aside from the Attorney General, and previously, the Postmaster General, they all receive the title Secretary. Members of the Cabinet serve at the pleasure of the President, which means the President may remove them at will.

Former Cabinet departments:

  • Department of Defense. Department of War (1789–1949): subsumed into new
  • Department of the Navy (1798–1947): subsumed into new Department of Defense.
  • Post Office Department (1829–1971), headed by the Postmaster General: reorganized as the United States Postal Service, an independent executive agency.
Renamed Cabinet offices:
  • Secretary of Foreign Affairs: created in July 1789 and renamed Secretary of State in September 1789
  • Secretary of Commerce and Labor: created in 1903 and renamed Secretary of Commerce in 1913 when its labor functions were transferred to the new Secretary of Labor.
  • Secretary of Health, Education, and Welfare: created in 1953 and renamed Secretary of Health and Human Services in 1979 when its education functions were transferred to the new Secretary of Education.

Cabinet departments today:

  • Department of State
  • Department of the Treasury
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of the Interior
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Department of Homeland Security