Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Current Members of the United States Cabinet

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


All Cabinet members are nominated by the President and then presented to the Senate for confirmation or rejection by a simple majority. If approved, they are sworn in and then begin their duties. Aside from the Attorney General, and the Postmaster General when it was a Cabinet office, they all receive the title of Secretary. Members of the Cabinet serve at the pleasure of the President; the President may dismiss or reappoint them (to other posts) at will.


Currently there are 16 members of the Cabinet. All but the Vice President have to be confirmed by the United States Senate. Any position that shows as vacant is currently being run by an Acting Secretary or an Acting Attorney General.

Mike Pence - Vice President

Mike Pompeo - Secretary of State

Steven Mnuchin - Secretary of the Treasury

Mark Esper (acting) - Secretary of Defense

William Barr - Attorney General

David Bernhardt - Secretary of the Interior

Sonny Perdue - Secretary of Agriculture

Wilbur Ross - Secretary of Commerce

Eugene Scalia - Secretary of Labor

Alex Azar - Secretary of Health and Human Services

Ben Carson - Secretary of Housing and Urban Development

Elaine Chao - Secretary of Transportation

Rick Perry - Secretary of Energy

Betsy DeVos - Secretary of Education

Robert Wilkie - Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Kevin McAleenan (acting) - Secretary of Homeland Security