Profiles Mentioned:

Related Projects:

Showing 1-30 of 60 posts
7/11/2018 at 11:08 AM

I am contacting Geni about this profile: Willem Schalkz van der Merwe, SV/PROG

Hi there curators,

I have found that from having over 10,000 ancestors,
I now show only about 500.
In the past this connected to a long line of Van der Merwede and way back from there to ancient times and many connections to related families throughout Europe and the UK etc.
This seems to be possibly because the line back from Willem Schalkz van der Merwe has been cut, but it could be something else.
I am no expert.

I sent my dna to Geni over a year ago, purchased from the Geni website, to find it was done by My Heritage which Geni is part of, so was OK with that.
I was until a month ago also a premium member of My Heritage.
To date despite queries by me, nothing has transpired.
Why is this please?
I have been very patient.
I wonder if the dna Geni feel fits me assumed by some relative I know nothing of might be incorrect, or the much smaller My heritage tree has confused the issue.
I re subscribed to Geni, as I prefer the site and had all this hard work done over a couple of years.

Has the fact that I no longer subscribe to My Heritage and the smaller tree on the free site caused this problem?
Has something changed with Geni limiting my tree size?
Have you experienced similar problems or could you shed some light regarding this please.

I have spent years building my tree, now to find it completely changed.
Most frustrating.
Hope you can help me solve this dilemma.

Thanks and take care.

Sincerely,

Martin Hardy Ellis

Private User
7/11/2018 at 11:36 AM

Willem Schalkz van der Merwe, SV/PROG was disconnected from his parents Schalk Willemsz van der Merwe
2018-07-07 10:46 AM by Sharon Doubell