Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

17th Century British Politicians

Project Tags

view all


  • John Smyth of Nibley, Gent. (1567 - 1641)
    John Smith (1567–1640) of North Nibley in Gloucestershire, was an English lawyer and antiquary, and genealogist of the Berkeley family. He served as a Member of Parliament for Midhurst in Sussex from 1...
  • Lt-Col Sir Peter Courtney, MP (c.1616 - 1670)
    Sir Peter Courtney (c. 1616 – c. April, 1670) was an English politician who sat in the House of Commons in 1640 and in 1660. He fought for the Royalist cause in the English Civil War. --------------...
  • Walter Hickman, Esq., MP (bef.1552 - 1617)
    Biography Walter Hickman , son of Anthony Hickman and Rose Lock 1, was christened 26 Aug 1552 in St. Olave Old Jewry, London, Middlesex, England. He died Feb 1617-18 in Kew, Surrey, England. Will dated...
    George Sandys (1577 - 1644)
    George Sandys: March 2, 1577-March 1644 Parents: Archbishop Edwin Sandys 1519-1588 and Cecily Wilford 1520-1611 The area's first documented land owner, George Sandys, served as Jamestown's inaugural...
  • Sir Edward Rodney, MP (1590 - 1657)
    Sir Edward Rodney (29 June 1590 – 1657) was an English politician who sat in the House of Commons at various times between 1621 and 1642. 'RODNEY, Sir Edward (1590-1657), of Stoke Rodney, Som. Fa...

17th Century British Politicians

Pictured right is Sir Robert Southwell (31 December 1635 – 11 September 1702) Secretary of State for Ireland and President of the Royal Society from 1690.

Image by Godfrey Kneller - Public Domain, Wiki Commons

It would be good if when adding a profile to this project you could also add it to the alphabetical listing below.

  • A

Col Sir Mathew Appleyard MP

Mathew Appleyard MP

Anthony Ashley-Cooper 3rd Earl of Shaftesbury

Sir Edward Ayscough MP

  • B

Mathew Babbington MP

Charles Baldwyn

Sir Samuel Baldwyn MP

Richard Beaumont

Sir Robert Bindlosse MP 1st Baronet

George Booth

William Booth

Sir Valentine Browne MP

Sir James Bunce MP

John Button MP

John Button MP

  • C

Sir Charles Carteret MP

Sir Ralph Cole MP 2nd Baronet

Lt Col Sir Thomas Conway MP

Sir Andrew Corbet of Moreton,Corbet, Salop MP

William Coward

Col Sir John Crosland MP

  • D

Sir John Denham FRS KB MP

  • E

Sir Thomas Erle, MP

Sir Giles Estcourt MP 1st Baronet of Long Newton'

Sir Thomas Estcourt Kt MP

Sir Thomas Estcourt MP(c.1645 - 1702)

Somerset Fox

Sir Edward Foxe Kt MP

Sir Thomas Frankland 2nd Baronet MP

  • G

Sir George Gifford MP

  • H

Sir Percival Hart MP

Sir Robert Heath MP Lord Cheif Justice

Sir Charles Hedges MP

Thomas Heneage

Hopkins MP

Sir Richard Hopkins MP

Samson Hopkins MP

  • I
  • J

William Jesson MP(c.1617 - 1661)

William Jesson MP (1580 – 1651)

  • K

William Knollys

  • L

John Legard MP

Sir Francis Leigh KB MP

Sir Henry Liddell MP 3rd Baronet'

Sir Thomas Liddell MP 1st Bt of Ravensworth Castle

Sir William Lowther MP 1st Baronet of Marske

  • M

John Milner

Giles Morgan

General Thomas Mytton MP

  • N

Sir Henry Neville MP

Simon Norton MP

  • 0

Sir Roger Owen

Thomas Preston

  • Q
  • R
  • S

Edwin Skrymsher

Sir Anthony St John MP

Sir Henry St John MP

Oliver St John (b. - 1688)

Oliver St John MP(1603 - 1642)

Paulet St John

Sir Rowland St John KB MP

  • T
  • U
  • V

Sir Thomas Vernon MP

  • W

William Webbe

John Weston

Sir Richard Weston MP

John Whitson MP

  • X
  • Z