Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Beaver County, Utah.

Official Website

The county was created by the Utah territorial legislature from a section of Iron County on January 5, 1856, after the town of Beaver, a Mormon settlement was flourishing. The county was named for the animal which was plentiful there. The county boundary as delineated by that act included areas in present-day Colorado and Nevada. The defined boundary was altered on January 16, 1861 by creation of two counties in present Nevada. The county area was effectively reduced on February 28, 1861 by the US Congress, when it created Colorado Territory, taking all of the Beaver County area east of 109 degrees longitude. The county's boundary was enlarged on January 17, 1861 by addition of parcels from Millard, Sanpete, and St. Mary's counties. However, its west area was reduced by creation of the Nevada Territory on July 14, 1862 (this adjustment was altered on May 5, 1866 by action of the US Congress, effectively ceding all Beaver County area west of 114 degrees longitude to Nevada counties). The county area was also reduced on January 16, 1865, when Piute County was created from Beaver territory.

Adjacent Counties


  • Adamsville
  • Arago City
  • Beaver (County Seat)
  • Blueacre
  • Cook Corner
  • Cunningham Hill
  • Frisco
  • Greenville
  • Lincoln
  • Manderfield
  • Milford
  • Minersville
  • Murdock
  • Newhouse
  • North Creek
  • Shauntie
  • Shenandoah City
  • Smyths
  • Sulphurdale
  • Three Creeks
  • Upton
  • Yellow Banks



Fort Cameron

Fort Cameron

Fishlake National Forest (part)

National Register of Historic Places

Genealogy Trails