Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

County Down - Main Page

Project Tags

County Down - Main Page

Northern Ireland

This is the Umbrella Project Page for County Down - Northern Ireland
See also Counties of Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

// to People Connected to County Down

Still to come

  • County Down Burials
  • County Down - Famous People
  • County Down Genealogical Resources
  • Historical County Down

County Down

  • Administrative centre Downpatrick
  • Province Ulster
  • County Flower - Spring Squill, Scilla verna
  • Area 945 sq mi (2,448 km2)
  • People from County Down are called -
  • Motto Absque Labore Nihil (Latin) "Nothing Without Labour"

County Down (named after its county town, Downpatrick) is one of six counties that form Northern Ireland, situated in the north-east of the island of Ireland. It adjoins the south-east shore of Lough Neagh. It is also one of the thirty-two traditional counties of Ireland and is within the province of Ulster.

Main Towns

For full list see County Down, Northern Ireland - Monumental Inscriptions, Cemeteries and Graveyards

  • Banbridge
  • Bangor
  • Carryduff
  • Downpatrick
  • Dundonald
  • Holywood
  • Newtownards

Getting Involved

Free to follow, request to collaborate

To join the project use the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page.


Geni's Project Plaza
Working with Projects
Wicked Wiki
Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance.
See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!
  • If you have any queries please start a discussion linked to this project. (See the menu top right).
  • Please add related projects to the menu on the right.
  • If you have links to related web pages that would be of interest to others please add them in the relevant section at the bottom of the page. In order to do this use the drop down menu at the top left of the screen and Join the Project. If this option is not available to you then contact a collaborator and ask to be added to the project. As a collaborator you will be able to edit this page.
  • Add any documents of interest using the menu at the top right of the page, and then add a link to the document in the text under the heading below. If you do not know how to do this please contact one of the other collaborators to assist you.

Parish Map


  1. Aghaderg
  2. Annaclone
  3. Annahilt
  4. Ardglass
  5. Ardkeen
  6. Ardquin
  7. Ballee
  8. Ballyculter
  9. Ballyhalbert
  10. Ballykinler
  11. Ballyphilip
  12. Ballytrustan
  13. Ballywalter
  14. Bangor
  15. Blaris
  16. Bright
  17. Castleboy
  18. Clonallan
  19. Clonduff
  20. Comber
  21. Donaghadee
  22. Donaghcloney
  23. Donaghmore
  24. Down
  25. Dromara
  26. Dromore
  27. Drumballyroney
  28. Drumbeg
  29. Drumbo
  30. Drumgath
  31. Drumgooland
  32. Dundonald
  33. Dunsfort
  34. Garvaghy
  35. Grey Abbey
  36. Hillsborough
  37. Holywood
  38. Inch
  39. Inishargy
  40. Kilbroney
  41. Kilclief
  42. Kilcoo
  43. Kilkeel
  44. Killaney
  45. Killinchy
  46. Killyleagh
  47. Kilmegan
  48. Kilmood
  49. Kilmore
  50. Knockbreda
  51. Lambeg
  52. Loughinisland
  53. Maghera
  54. Magheradrool
  55. Magherahamlet
  56. Magheralin
  57. Magherally
  58. Moira
  59. Newry
  60. Newtownards
  61. Rathmullan
  62. Saintfield
  63. Saul
  64. Seapatrick
  65. Shankill
  66. Slanes
  67. Tullylish
  68. Tullynakill
  69. Tyrella
  70. Warrenpoint

Other Pages for Counties of Northern Ireland Counties

// Antrim - Main Page

// Armagh - Main Page

// Derry - Main Page

// Fermanagh - Main Page

// Tyrone - Main Page