Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Distinguished Flying Cross (UK) Recipients

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Garry Gordon Cooper
    Garry Gordon Cooper (born 21 January 1938) is a retired airline captain and served as a fighter pilot in the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) attaining the rank of flight lieutenant. Cooper served o...
  • Lloyd Andrews Hamilton (1894 - 1918)
    First Lieutenant Lloyd Andrews Hamilton (13 June 1894 – 24 August 1918) was a World War I flying ace credited with ten aerial victories. During five months of 1918 he became an ace with the Royal Air...
  • Vernon Crompton Woodward (1916 - 2000)
    "Woody" Vernon Crompton Woodward DFC and Bar RAF (22 December 1916 – 26 May 2000) was a Canadian fighter pilot and flying ace with the Royal Air Force during World War II. With 18 and 4 shared destro...
  • Henry Wallace McLeod (1915 - 1944)
    Flight Lieutenant Henry Wallace McLeod DSO, DFC and Bar (17 December 1915 – 27 September 1944) was a Canadian fighter pilot and flying ace with the Royal Canadian Air Force during the Second World Wa...
  • Jack Charles (1919 - 1986)

The Distinguished Flying Cross (DFC) - United Kingdom is the third-level military decoration

Instituted on 3rd June 1918.

Awarded to officers and warrant officers of the Royal Air Force for an act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty while flying on active operations against the enemy.

A bar is added to the medal ribbon for subsequent acts of valour, for which a subsequent D.F.C. would be awarded. Recipients of the medal are entitled to use the letters D.F.C. after their name. The medal was issued with no inscription of the recipient's name.

During the First World War there were about 1,100 D.F.C. awards.

It is equivalent to the Distinguished Service Cross (D.S.C) for acts of valour at sea and the Military Cross (M.C.) for acts of valour on land.

This silver medal was designed by the medallist E Carter Preston. He was the winner of the design for the Next of Kin Memorial Plaque.


Please link the profiles of recipients on GENi to this project

How to add a link is explained at - Working with Projects