Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Distinguished Flying Medal Recipients

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • George Beurling (1921 - 1948)
    George Frederick "Buzz" Beurling, DSO, DFC, DFM & Bar (6 December 1921 – 20 May 1948) was the most successful Canadian fighter pilot and flying ace of the Second World War. Beurling was recognised a...
  • Wallace McIntosh (1920 - 2007)
    Flight Lieutenant Wallace McIntosh DFC & Bar, DFM (27 March 1920 – 4 June 2007) flew 55 bombing missions with the RAF during the Second World War as a rear gunner in Lancaster bombers. McIntosh was r...
  • Ted Thorn (1913 - 1946)
    Edward Rowland Thorn, DFC & Bar, DFM & Bar (15 April 1913 – 12 February 1946), also known as Roland Thorn, was a Royal Air Force pilot, squadron commander and a notable flying ace of the Second World...
  • John Wooldridge (1919 - 1958)
    John De Lacy Wooldridge , DSO, DFC & Bar, DFM (18 July 1919 – 27 October 1958) was a Royal Air Force officer and bomber pilot, and a British film composer.

Instituted on 3rd June 1918.

Awarded to other ranks of the Royal Air Force for an act or acts of valour, courage or devotion to duty while flying on active operations against the enemy. Later it was available to the equivalent ranks in the Army and Royal Navy for acts of valour in the air.

Recipients of the medal are entitled to use the letters D.F.M. after their name. A subsequent award receives a silver bar with an eagle in the centre of it.

It is equivalent to the Distinguished Service Medal (D.S.M.) for acts of valour at sea, the Military Medal (M.M.) for acts of valour on land and the Air Force Medal (A.F.M.).

The medal was designed by the medallist E Carter Preston.


Please link the profiles of recipients on GENi to this project.