Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Franklin County, Ohio

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles for those who were born, lived or died in Franklin County, Ohio.

It is not to be confused with the city of Franklin in Warren County.

Official Website

On March 30, 1803, the Ohio government authorized the creation of Franklin County. The county originally was part of Ross County. Residents named the county in honor of Benjamin Franklin. In 1816, Franklin County's Columbus became Ohio's state capital. Surveyors laid out the city in 1812, and officials incorporated it in 1816. Columbus was not Ohio's original capital, but the state legislature chose to move the state government there after its location for a short time at Chillicothe and at Zanesville. Columbus was chosen as the site for the new capital because of its central location within the state and access by way of major transportation routes (primarily rivers) at that time.

Adjacent Counties


  • Bexley
  • Canal Winchester
  • Columbus (County Seat, part)
  • Dublin
  • Gahanna
  • Grandview Heights
  • Grove City
  • Groveport
  • Hilliard
  • New Albany
  • Pickerington
  • Reynoldsburg
  • Upper Arlington
  • Westerville
  • Whitehall
  • Worthington

Other Villages, Townships & Communities: Amlin, Blacklick, Blacklick Estates, Blendon, Brice, Brown, Clinton, Darbydale, Flint, Franklin, Galloway, Georgesville, Hamilton, Harrisburg, Huber Ridge, Jackson, Jefferson, Lake Darby, Lincoln Village, Lithopolis, Lockbourne, Madison, Marble Cliff, Marion (annexed to Columbus), Mifflin, Minerva Park, New Rome, Norwich, Oakland, Obetz, Perry, Plain, Pleasant, Prairie, Riverlea, Sharon, Truro, Urbancrest and Valleyview



Nat'l Reg. of Hist. Places