Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Sgt. Stewart Graeme Guthrie (1948 - 1990)
    The first armed police officer to arrive was Sergeant Stewart Guthrie, officer in charge of Port Chalmers police station and an NCO in the Armed Offenders Squad (AOS).[9] He came armed with a Smith & W...
  • Eric William Kevin Walton, GC, DSC (1918 - 2009)
    - Albert Medal (later became George Cross) - Queen's Commendation for Brave Conduct - Polar Medal - Obituary in Daily Telegraph
  • Andrea Angel (c.1877 - 1917)
    Andrea Angel= From Christchurc Alumni Fallen: born: 1877died 19 January 1917Killed in an explosion at Silvertown aged 40 Buried at the East London CemeteryAndrea (papers refer to him also as Andreas an...
  • Randolph Gordon Ridling, AM (1888 - 1975)
    Randolph Gordon RIDLING, AM New Zealand Rifle BrigadeRandolph Ridling was born in 1888, in Auckland. He was educated at Auckland Grammar School and attended Auckland University College before becoming ...
  • Sgt. Murray Ken Hudson, GC (1938 - 1974)
    Murray Ken Hudson GC (24 February 1938–13 February 1974) was a Sergeant with the Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment who lost his life when trying to protect soldiers under his command at Waiouru Milit...

The George Cross (GC) is the highest civil decoration of the United Kingdom and other member states of the Commonwealth of Nations. It is second as a decoration only to the Victoria Cross. The George Cross is the highest gallantry award for civilians, as well as for military personnel in actions which are not in the face of the enemy, or for which purely military honours would not normally be granted. The George Cross was officially constituted on 24 September 1940 by King George VI, during the height of the Blitz, as a way to award civilian courage. It is granted in recognition of "acts of the greatest heroism or of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme danger".

Initially, the Empire Gallantry Medal recognised acts of the highest bravery but was never considered equal to that of the Victoria Cross. The George Cross succeeded the Empire Gallantry Medal and all those living that had been awarded the medal, and all posthumous awards from the outbreak of World War II, were obliged to exchange their medal for the George Cross. In 1971, the living recipients of either the Albert Medal and Edward Medal, that recognised the saving of life and bravery of miners and quarrymen respectively, were invited to exchange their medals for the George Cross; 24 recipients elected not to exchange their medal.

Since the Second World War most Commonwealth realms have instituted their own honours systems and have awards similar to the British GC. The Queen of Canada has awarded the Cross of Valour to Canadian citizens since its establishment in 1972. Although Australia created the Cross of Valour in 1975, the GC could still be recommended by Australia until 5 October 1992 with the last award, the most recent to a living civilian, being gazetted in 1978. Both allow the wearer to use the postnominal letters CV. The Queen of New Zealand has awarded the New Zealand Cross to New Zealand citizens since its institution in 1999, which grants the wearer the postnominal letters NZC.

There have been 407 George Cross awards including two collective awards but no honorary awards although some recipients serving in British forces were foreign born including Albert Guérisse (Belgium), Violette Szabo (France), and Noor Inayat Khan (Russia). All three served within the Special Operations Executive during World War II. There are currently 19 living recipients.