Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Sir Evan Charteris (1864 - 1940)
    "The Hon. Sir Evan Edward Charteris (29 January 1864 – 16 November 1940, Jesmond Hill, Pangbourne) was an English biographer, barrister and arts administrator. He published notable biographies of his f...
  • Edward Wynne-Finch (1842 - 1914)
    Edward Heneage Wynne-Finch (born Edward Heneage Wynne) JP (9 December 1842 – 7 January 1914) was a Welsh first-class cricketer and barrister. The son of the cricketer and politician Charles Wynne, h...
  • Philip Ludwell Lee of Stratford Hall (1726 - 1775)
    He was born Feb. 24, 1726-27, and like many other young gentlemen of the day was sent to England to be educated, studying law in London at the Inner Temple. When Thomas Lee and William Beverley went to...
  • Gov. John Winthrop, Connecticut Colony (1606 - 1676)
    John Jr. Winthrop Born 12 FEB 1605 Groton, Suffolk, England Marr 1635 St. Matthew, Friday St., Essex, England Died 1676 New London, CT son of John Winthrop, Born 1587, England Marr 1605 Died 1649, MA ...
  • Sir Francis Buller, 1st Baronet of Churston Court (1746 - 1800)
    Francis Buller, 1st Baronet (17 March 1746 – 5 June 1800) of Churston Court in the parish of Churston Ferrers, of nearby Lupton in the parish of Brixham, and of Prince Hall on Dartmoor, all in Devon, w...

The Honourable Society of the Inner Temple, commonly known as Inner Temple, is one of the four Inns of Court (professional associations for barristers and judges) in London. To be called to the Bar and practise as a barrister in England and Wales, an individual must belong to one of these Inns. It is located in the wider Temple area of the capital, near the Royal Courts of Justice, and within the City of London.

The Inn is a professional body that provides legal training, selection, and regulation for members. It is ruled by a governing council called "Parliament", made up of the Masters of the Bench (or "Benchers"), and led by the Treasurer, who is elected to serve a one-year term. The Temple takes its name from the Knights Templar, who originally leased the land to the Temple's inhabitants (Templars) until their abolition in 1312. The Inner Temple was a distinct society from at least 1388, although as with all the Inns of Court its precise date of founding is not known. After a disruptive early period (during which the Temple was almost entirely destroyed in the Peasants' Revolt) it flourished, becoming the second largest Inn during the Elizabethan period (after Gray's Inn).

Significant members of the judiciary include Sir Edward Coke, Lady Justice Butler-Sloss, and Lord Justice Birkett. Several barrister members have gone on to be highly important, including Edward Marshall-Hall, and legal academics have also been members, such as Sir John Baker.

Prime Ministers Clement Attlee and George Grenville have both been members; as was the first Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tunku Abdul Rahman; the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru; the founder of Pakistan, Muhammad Ali Jinnah; the fifth President of India, Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed; Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, father of India and leader of the Indian independence movement, was called to the bar at Inner temple in 1891, before returning to India; Siddhartha Shankar Ray, Indian politician, statesman, noted lawyer, Chief Minister of Bengal, Governor of Punjab and Indian Ambassador to United States of America.

Outside of the law and politics, members have included the poet Arthur Brooke, Admiral Francis Drake, dramatist W. S. Gilbert, the economist John Maynard Keynes and diplomat and Righteous among the Nations Prince Constantin Karadja.