Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all 180


  • Sir William Drury, MP (bef.1499 - 1558)
    Sir William Drury (c. 1500 – 11 January 1558) was the son and heir of Sir Robert Drury (before 1456 – 2 March 1535), Speaker of the House of Commons. He was a Member of Parliament and a Privy Councillo...
  • William Pitt. Prime Minister of the United Kingdom (1759 - 1806)
    "Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves." (speech to Parliament 1783). He was unmarried and left no children.
  • Sir John Talbot, of Grafton (1545 - 1611)
    John Talbot of Grafton Sir John Talbot of Grafton, Worcestershire (1545 – 28 January 1611[1]) was a prominent recusant English Catholic layman of the reigns of Elizabeth I of England and James I of E...
  • Richard Cromwell, 2nd Lord Protector of England, Scotland and Ireland (1626 - 1712)
    Richard Cromwell (4 October 1626 – 12 July 1712) was an English statesman who was the second Lord Protector of the Commonwealth of England, Scotland and Ireland. CROMWELL Richard Birth : 162...
  • Sir Thomas Temple, 1st Baronet (bef.1567 - 1637)
    Temple was born at Burton Dassett in Warwickshire, the eldest son of John Temple and Susan (née Spencer). As a child he moved with his father to Stowe House in Buckinghamshire. He was educated at Oxf...

The Honourable Society of Lincoln's Inn is one of four Inns of Court in London to which barristers of England and Wales belong and where they are called to the Bar. The other three are Middle Temple, Inner Temple and Gray's Inn. It is believed to be named after Henry de Lacy, 3rd Earl of Lincoln. Lincoln's Inn is situated in Holborn, in the London Borough of Camden, just on the border with the City of London and the City of Westminster, and across the road from Royal Courts of Justice. The nearest tube station is Holborn or Chancery Lane.

Notable members

Deceased members of Lincoln's Inn (listed in order of date of birth)

  • Sir John Fortescue,(1394) Lord Chief Justice under King Henry VI of England and jurist
  • Sir Thomas Berkeley, M.P.
  • Sir Thomas More (1478)
  • William Roper (1496)
  • Sir Francis Walsingham (1532)
  • John Donne (1572)
  • William Hakewill, M.P., lawyer and antiquary (1574)
  • Richard Bellewe, (1575) legal reporter
  • William Prynne, 17th century pamphleteer and opponent of Archbishop William Laud (1600)
  • Richard Cromwell (1626)
  • William Osgoode, (1754) first Chief Justice of Ontario after whom Osgoode Hall (and by proxy Osgoode Hall Law School) was named
  • William Pitt the Younger, twice Prime Minister of the United Kingdom (1759)
  • William Wingfield (MP), Chief Justice of the Brecon Circuit (1772)
  • Edward Vernon Utterson (c. 1776), lawyer, one of the Six Clerks in Chancery, literary antiquary, collector and editor
  • Thomas Langlois Lefroy (1776), Chief Justice of Ireland from 1855 to 1866
  • Munim Masood (1996), Son of Mian Shahroz Iqbal, Mayor of Karachi from 1997 to 2000
  • Sir Nicholas Conyngham Tindal (1776), Chief Justice of the Common Pleas
  • Francis Rogers, (1791) judge and author
  • Thomas Powys (1794) who was the 2nd Baron Lilford.
  • John Henry Newman, cardinal (1801)
  • William Ewart Gladstone, (1809) four times Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
  • Gnanendramohan Tagore, first Asian to be called at the bar. A member of Tagore family of Pathuriaghata.
  • Monomohun Ghose, first Indian to practice at the Calcutta High Court
  • H. H. Asquith, (1852) Prime Minister of the United Kingdom and 1st Earl of Oxford and Asquith
  • Henry Buckley, 1st Baron Wrenbury, (1854) a PC and QC who wrote the first edition of Buckley on the Companies Act. He served as a Judge of the High Court of Justice and as a Lord Justice of Appeal. He was then admitted to the Privy Council and elevated to the peerage as Baron Wrenbury
  • Sir Baron Jayatilaka, (1868) Minister for Home Affairs, Ceylon
  • Mohammad Ali Jinnah, (1876) founder and first Governor General of Pakistan
  • Sir Muhammad Iqbal (Allama Iqbal), (1877) Muslim poet, philosopher and politician.
  • Sir Padamji Ginwala (1897) Parsi Barrister and economist from India.
  • Lord Denning (1899)
  • Sir Muhammad Zafarullah Khan, (1893) Foreign Minister of Pakistan,
  • Mohammad Hidayatullah, (1905) Chief Justice of India.
  • Lord Hailsham of St Marylebone, (1907) former Lord Chancellor
  • Mirza Hameedullah Beg, (1913) Chief Justice of India
  • Shankar Dayal Sharma, (1918) 9th President of The Republic of India
  • Chaim Herzog, (1918) sixth President of Israel
  • His Excellency Rauf Raif Denktas (1924) Founding President of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
  • Mohiuddin Ahmed,(1940) student of legendary Justice Denning (also a Lincolnian himself) and the last to hold the chair of 'City Coroner Judge' for the Metropolitan City of Calcutta (Presently renamed as Kolkata), India.
  • Subimal Chandra Roy, (1971) Judge of the Supreme Court of India.
  • Margaret Thatcher, former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
  • Apa Saheb Bala Saheb Pant, Indian freedom fighter and diplomat[1]

Living members of Lincoln's Inn (listed in order of date of birth)

  • Azlan Shah of Perak, former Lord President of Malaysia, now the Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan
  • Sir Anerood Jugnauth, President of Mauritius & former prime minister
  • Sajjad Ali Shah, Chief Justice Of Pakistan
  • Dr. Kamal Hossain, Foreign and Law Minister of Bangladesh.
  • Chan Sek Keong, former Chief Justice of Singapore.
  • Robert Walker, Baron Walker of Gestingthorpe, Justice of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom
  • Martin Lee, Hong Kong politician. Former leader of the Democratic Party
  • John Kufuor, President of Ghana from 2001 to 2009
  • Mary Arden (judge), Lady Justice of Appeal of the Royal Courts of Justice
  • David Neuberger, Baron Neuberger of Abbotsbury, Master of the Rolls
  • Tony Blair, former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
  • Makhdoom Ali Khan, former Attorney General of Pakistan
  • Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz, Minister of Tourism and Culture of Malaysia
  • Cherie Booth QC
  • Raja Ashman Shah,Raja Kecil Tengah of Perak Darul Ridzuan (Malaysia)
  • Rabinder Singh QC
  • Asaduddin Owaisi, barrister Member of Lok Sabha MP from Hyderabad,_


  • Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto [4th President and 11th Prime Minister of Pakistan]