Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Inverness-shire Main Page

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Inverness-shire Main Page

Historic County of Scotland

Now Highland Region

This is the Umbrella project for Inverness-shire

// //
// to People Connected to Inverness-shire //

Inverness-shire - Famous People
Historic Buildings of Inverness-shire
Inverness-shire Monumental Inscriptions, Cemeteries and Graveyards
People Connected to Inverness-shire Still to come
Inverness-shire Burials
Inverness-shire Genealogical Resources
Historic Inverness-shire

  • Abolished 1974 - now Highland Region
  • Administrative centre Inverness
  • Chapman County Code - INV
  • Gaelic Name Siorrachd Inbhir Nis
  • Famous for:
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest
  • Ben Nevis
  • Caledonian Canal
  • Culloden Battlefield
  • Loch Ness
  • Area 4,211 square miles
  • Population
  • Succeeded by
  • County Flower - Twinflower
  • Main Rivers: Endrick, Feshie, Garry, Ness, Nethy, Spey.

Inverness-shire was a general purpose county of Scotland, with the burgh of Inverness as the county town until 1975 when, under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, the county area was divided between the two-tier Highland region and the unitary Western Isles. registration county of Scotland

The Districts of Inverness-shire

  • Moidart, Arisaig and Morar in the S.W.,
  • Knoydart in the W.,
  • Lochaber in the S.,
  • Badenoch in the S.E. and the
  • Aird in the N

Civil Parishes

Civil parishes are still used for some statistical purposes, and separate census figures are published for them. As their areas have been largely unchanged since the 19th century this allows for comparison of population figures over an extended period of time.

In 1854 in Inverness-shire there were 29 civil parishes; 7 part civil parishes; and 5 parliamentary parishes.

  • Abernethy and Kincardine
  • Alvie
  • Ardersier
  • Arisaig and Moidart
  • Barra
  • Boleskine and Abertarff
  • Bracadale
  • Cawdor part (now in Nairnshire)
  • Cromdale Inverallan and Advie
  • Croy, Highland and Dalcross, Highland
  • Daviot, Highland (now in Aberdeenshire)
  • Dunlichity
  • Dores
  • Duirinish
  • Duthil and Rothiemurchus
  • Glenelg
  • Harris
  • Inverness and Bona
  • Kilmallie
  • Kilmonivaig
  • Kilmorack
  • Kilmuir
  • Kiltarlity and Convinth
  • Kingussie and Insh
  • Kirkhill
  • Laggan or Kinloch Laggan
  • Moy and Dalarossie
  • North Uist
  • Petty
  • Portree
  • Sleat
  • Small Isles
  • Snizort
  • South Uist
  • Strath
  • Urquhart and Glenmoriston
  • Urray

If you have Inverness-shire connections please join the project.

Getting Involved

Feel free to follow, request to collaborate

To join the project use the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page.


Geni's Project Plaza
Working with Projects
Wicked Wiki
Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance.
See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!