Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Matt Bevin, Governor
    Matthew Griswold "Matt" Bevin (born January 9, 1967) is an American businessman and the 62nd and current Governor of Kentucky, since December 8, 2015. He is only the third Republican elected Governor...
  • Wendell H. Ford, Governor, U.S. Senator (1924 - 2015)
    Wendell Hampton Ford (born September 8, 1924) is a retired politician from the U.S. state of Kentucky. He served for twenty-four years in the U.S. Senate and was the 53rd Governor of Kentucky. He was...
  • Steve Beshear, 61st Governor of Kentucky
    Steven Lynn "Steve" Beshear (born September 21, 1944) is an American politician who is the 61st Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. A Democrat, Beshear previously served in the Kentucky House o...
  • Wallace G. Wilkinson, Governor (1941 - 2002)
    Wallace Glenn Wilkinson (December 12, 1941 – July 5, 2002) was an American businessman and politician from the Commonwealth of Kentucky. From 1987 to 1991, he served as the state's fifty-seven...
  • John Y. Brown, Jr., Governor
    . John Young Brown, Jr. (born December 28, 1933) is a politician, entrepreneur, and businessman from the U.S. state of Kentucky. He served as the 55th governor of Kentucky from 1979 to 1983, although...

List of Governors of Kentucky

Kentucky was initially Kentucky County in Virginia. It achieved statehood and was admitted to the Union on June 1, 1792; see the list of governors of Virginia for the period before statehood. There have been 57 governors, serving 61 distinct terms.

An unelected group proclaimed Kentucky's secession from the Union on November 20, 1861, and it was annexed by the Confederate States of America on December 10, 1861. The Confederate government elected two governors (listed separately), but it never held much control over the state, and the main line of governors was preserved.

Steve Beshear is the 61st and current (2013) governor, having served since December 11, 2007. Isaac Shelby was 1st and 5th Governor of Kentucky.