Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Kinross-shire Main Page

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Kinross-shire Main Page

Historic County of Scotland

This is the Umbrella project for Kinross-shire
// //
// to People Connected to Kinross-shire

Kinross-shire - Famous People
Historic Buildings of Kinross-shire
Kinross-shire Monumental Inscriptions, Cemeteries and Graveyards
People Connected to Kinross-shire

Still to come

Kinross-shire Burials
Kinross-shire - Genealogical Resources
Historical Kinross-shire

  • Administrative centre Kinross
  • Chapman County Code - KRS
  • Gaelic Name
  • Famous for:
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest
  • Area
  • Population
  • Succeeded by Tayside Region

Kinross-shire or the County of Kinross is a registration county, electoral ward and historic county in the Perth and Kinross council area in the east central Lowlands of Scotland. Surrounding its largest settlement and county town of Kinross, Kinross-shire borders Perthshire to the north, Fife to the east and south and Clackmannanshire to the west.

The Parishes of Kinross-shire

After the boundary changes the county contained five parishes: (Number relate to above map)

  1. Fossoway,
  2. Orwell,
  3. Kinross,
  4. Portmoak and
  5. Cleish.

(The burgh of Kinross is shown in red, Loch Leven in blue).

From 1894 elected parish councils replaced the parochial boards. These in turn were abolished in 1930, and the powers they had exercised passed to the council.

The county was anciently divided into a number of parishes, four were entirely in Kinross-shire :

  1. Cleish
  2. Orwell (containing the market town of Milnathort)
  3. Kinross
  4. Portmoak

The parishes partly in Perthshire were :

  1. Arngask
  2. Fossoway
  3. Tulliebole
  4. Forgandenny

From 1845 they were used for local government purposes and governed by parochial boards.

In 1851 there were four entire parishes in Kinross-shire -

  • Cleish,
  • Orwell,
  • Kinross and
  • Tulliebole.

There were also parts of three other parishes,( two in the presbytery of Perth and the other in the presbytery of Auchterader).

If you have Kinross-shire connections please join the project.

Getting Involved

Feel free to follow, request to collaborate


To join the project use the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page.


Geni's Project Plaza
Working with Projects
Wicked Wiki
Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance.
See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!