Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.
view all


  • William Benjamin Robinson (1797 - 1873)
    William Benjamin Robinson (December 22, 1797 – July 18, 1873) was a fur trader and political figure in Upper Canada.He was born in Kingston in 1797, the son of Christopher Robinson and Esther Sayre, an...
  • John Beverley Robinson (1821 - 1896)
    Beverley Robinson (February 21, 1821 – June 19, 1896) was a Canadian politician, lawyer and businessman. He was mayor of Toronto and a provincial and federal member of parliament. He was the fifth Lieu...
  • Francis H. Burton (1817 - 1872)
    Henry Burton (1817 – July 28, 1872) was an Ontario businessman and political figure. He represented Durham East in the 1st Canadian Parliament as a Conservative member.He was born in Galway, Ireland in...
  • John Scatcherd (1800 - 1858)
  • Thomas Scatcherd (1823 - 1876)
    Scatcherd (November 10, 1823 – April 15, 1876) was a Canadian lawyer and political figure. He represented Middlesex North as a Liberal member of the Canadian House of Commons from 1867 to 1876.He was b...

The Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada was the lower house of the legislature for the Province of Canada, which consisted of the former provinces of Lower Canada, then known as Canada East and later the province of Quebec, and Upper Canada, then known as Canada West and later the province of Ontario. It was created by The Union Act of 1840. Canada East and Canada West each elected 42 members to the assembly. The upper house of the legislature was called the Legislative Council.

The first session of parliament began in Kingston in Canada West in 1841.

The second parliament and the first sessions of the third parliament were held in Montreal. On April 25, 1849, rioters protesting the Rebellion Losses Bill burned the parliament buildings. The remaining sessions of the third parliament were held in Toronto. Subsequent parliaments were held in Quebec City and Toronto, except for the last session in 1866 of the eight and final parliament, which was held in Ottawa, the capital chosen for the Dominion of Canada.

The British North America Act of 1867 divided the Province of Canada into the provinces of Ontario and Quebec, each province having its own Legislative Assembly, as well as representation in the Parliament of Canada.