Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Mayors of Washington, D.C.

Project Tags

view all


  • Muriel Bowser
    Elizabeth Bowser (born August 2, 1972) is an American politician and a member of the Democratic Party currently serving as the eighth Mayor of the District of Columbia. Prior to her inauguration in Jan...
  • Matthew Gault Emery (1818 - 1901)
    Gault Emery (September 28, 1818 - October 12, 1901) was the twenty-first Mayor of Washington, D.C. from 1870 to 1871, when the office was abolished. Emery was the last mayor of Washington, D.C. until t...
  • Sayles Jenks Bowen (1813 - 1896)
    Jenks Bowen (1813–1896) was the twentieth Mayor of Washington City, District of Columbia, from 1868 to 1870. Bowen was one of the most controversial mayors in the history of the American capital, becau...
  • William A. Bradley (1794 - 1867)
    A. Bradley (February 25, 1794 - August 28, 1867) was an American politician who served as the eleventh Mayor of Washington, D.C. from 1834 to 1836.Once the Cashier for the Bank of Washington, Bradley w...
  • Mayor Richard Wallach (1816 - 1881)
    Mayor Richard Wallach Wallach was an American politician who served as the nineteenth and first Republican Mayor of Washington, D.C. Wallach was born in Alexandria, Virginia in 1816, and gre...

The list of mayors of Washington, D.C. is a reflection of the changing structure of its local government. From 1846 to 1871, three separate municipalities were located within the District of Columbia and each was governed separately: the City of Washington, Georgetown, and unincorporated territory known as Washington County. With the District of Columbia Organic Act of 1871, the three municipalities within the District of Columbia were abolished in favor of a single District government, whose chief executive was a territorial Governor. This office was abolished in 1874, and replaced with a three-member Board of Commissioners appointed by the President. This system existed until 1967, when it was replaced by a single mayor-commissioner and city council appointed by the President. Finally, in 1974, the District of Columbia Home Rule Act allowed for District residents to elect their own mayor.