Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Rulers in the Low Countries

Project Tags

Work in Progress (if you want to contribute to this page, please ask to collaborate first so that we can build a dialogue and get this structure right)


The Low Countries are historically the region that comprises the current countries of the Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxemburg - as well as the current French départements Nord and Pas de Calais, and small areas in current Germany (including Aachen). The historical formation of this region finds its source in Merovingian and Carolingian times.The political and economic development of its subregions are closely entertwined.

The objective of this project is to provide a structure for the identification and improvement of genealogical lines in this region - and specifically those of local nobility (dukes, counts, lords...).

Click here for an interesting map of the Low Countries (based on an original map published by Joan Blaeu in 1649), with indications of towns (clickable, to reveal old maps of those towns).


  • Noorderkwartier
  • Zuiderkwartier

Heerlijkheid Friesland

  • Kwartier Oostergo
  • Kwartier Westergo
  • Kwartier Zevenwouden

Heerlijkheid Groningen

  • Kwartier Hunsingo
  • Kwartier Fivelingo
  • Kwartier Westerkwartier

Heerlijkheid Overijssel

  • Kwartier Vollenhove
  • Kwartier Salland
  • Kwartier Twente

Heerlijkheid Utrecht

  • Bisdom Utrecht (see related project...)
  • Maarschalksambt Nederkwartier
  • Maarschalksambt Montfoort
  • Maarschalksambt Eemland
  • Maarschalksambt Overkwartier

Hertogdom Gelre

  • Kwartier Nijmegen
  • Kwartier Veluwe (Arnhem)
  • Kwartier Opper-Gelre (Overkwartier)
  • Kwartier Zutphen (Graafschap Zutphen)

Graafschap Zeeland

  • Kwartier Bewester-Schelde
  • Kwartier Beooster-Schelde
  • Kwartier Gent (graafschap Gent, burggraafschappen Aalst, Oudenaarde, Waas, heerlijkheden Ninove, Peteghem, Zotteghem, Bornem, Dendermonde)
  • Kwartier Brugge (burggraafschappen Brugge, Veurne, Bergues, Bourbourg)
  • Kwartier Ieper (burggraafschappen Ieper, Kortrijk, Kassel, Belle)
  • Châtellenie de Lille
  • Châtellenie de Douai
  • Châtellenie d'Orchies
  • Châtellenie de Tournai
  • Kwartier Antwerpen (markgraafschap Antwerpen)
  • Kwartier Leuven (graafschap Leuven, hertogdom Aarschot...)
  • Kwartier Brussel (graafschap Brussel)
  • Kwartier 's Hertogenbosch (meierij 's Hertogenbosch, markiezaat Bergen op Zoom, baronie Breda)

Heerlijkheid Mechelen

  • Heerlijkheid Mechelen
  • Heerlijkheid Heist-op-den-Berg
  • Heerlijkheid Gestel


  • Hertogdom Limburg
  • Graafschap Dalhem
  • Graafschap Valkenburg
  • Heerlijkheid 's Hertogenrade

Principauté épiscopale de Liège

  • Princes-évêques de Liège
  • Tweeherigheid Maastricht
  • Graafschap Horn
  • Graafschap Loon (see related project...)
  • Duché de Bouillon

Duché de Luxembourg

  • Bailliage d'Orchimont (Orchimont, Han-sur-Lesse, Mirwart)
  • Quartier d'Arlon (Arlon, Esch-sur-Sûre)
  • Quartier de Bronsfeld (Bronsfeld, Schonecken)
  • Quartier de Bastogne (Bastogne, Amberloup, Fauvillers, Wiltz, Clervaux)
  • Quartier de Chiny (Chiny, Florenville, Herbeumont, Izel, Orval, Étalle)
  • Quartier de Diekirch (Diekirch, Larochette, Mersch)
  • Quartier de Durbuy (Durbuy, Aywaille)
  • Quartier d'Houffalize (Houffalize, Vielsalm)
  • Quartier de Marche (Marche-en-Famenne, Nassogne)
  • Quartier de Neufchâteau (Neufchâteau, Saint-Hubert, Cugnon)
  • Quartier de Laroche (La Roche-en-Ardenne, Tenneville)
  • Quartier de Luxembourg (Luxembourg, Heisdorf, Differdange, Remich, Grevenmacher, Wasserbillig, Echternach)
  • Quartier de Saint-Vith (Saint-Vith)
  • Quartier de Vianden (Vianden, Dasbourg)
  • Quartier de Virton (Virton)

Comté de Namur

  • Châtellennie de Dinant
  • Comté d'Agimont

Comté de Hainaut

  • Comté de Mons
  • Comté de Chièvres
  • Comté de Valenciennes

Principauté épiscopale du Cambrésis

  • Comté de Cambrai

Comté d'Artois

  • Comté de Boulogne
  • Comté de Guînes
  • Comté de Saint-Pol