Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Julius Schwartz (1915 - 2004)
    "Julie" Schwartz (June 19, 1915 – February 8, 2004) was a comic book editor, and a science fiction agent and prominent fan. He was born in The Bronx, New York. He is best known as a longtime editor at ...
  • Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. (1922 - 2007)
    Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. , ( November 11, 1922 – April 11, 2007) was one of the most influential American writers of the 20th century. He wrote such works as Mother Night (1961), Slaughterhouse-Five (1969), ...
  • Alan Moore
    Moore (born 18 November 1953) is an English writer primarily known for his work in comic books including Watchmen, V for Vendetta and From Hell. Frequently described as the best graphic novel writer in...
  • Harlan Ellison (1934 - 2018)
    Harlan Jay Ellison (May 27, 1934 – June 27, 2018) was an American writer, known for his prolific and influential work in speculative fiction, and for his outspoken, combative personality.One of his fav...
  • Robert Louis Stevenson (1850 - 1894)
    Robert Louis Stevenson was born to Thomas and Margaret Isabella Balfour Stevenson in Edinburgh on 13 November 1850. From the beginning he was sickly. Through much of his childhood he was attended by hi...

Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 by the Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society (Kansas City, Missouri) and the Center for the Study of Science Fiction (CSSF) at the University of Kansas (KU). The Chairmen were Keith Stokes (1996–2001) and Robin Wayne Bailey (2002–2004). Only writers and editors were eligible for recognition and four were inducted annually, two deceased and two living. Each class of four was announced at Kansas City's annual science fiction convention, ConQuesT, and inducted at the Campbell Conference hosted by CSSF.

The Hall of Fame stopped inducting fantasy writers after 2004, when it became part of the Science Fiction Museum affiliated with EMP, under the name "Science Fiction Hall of Fame". Having inducted 36 writers in nine years, in 2005 it began to recognize non-literary media. It retained the quota of four new members and thus reduced the annual number of writers. The 2005 and 2006 press releases placed new members in "Literature", "Art", and "Film, Television and Media", and "Open" categories, one each. In 2007 and 2008 the fourth inductee was placed in one of the three substantial categories.

EMP de-installed the Science Fiction Museum in March 2011. When the exhibition "Icons of Science Fiction" opened in June 2012, a new Hall of Fame display was unveiled and the class of 2012 inducted.

Nominations are submitted by EMP Museum members but the selections are made by "award-winning science fiction authors, artists, editors, publishers, and film professionals."

EMP restored the original name online during June 2013 and announced five new members, one daily, beginning June 17. The first four were cited largely or wholly for science fiction but the last was J. R. R. Tolkien, "hailed as the father of modern fantasy literature".

The class of 2014 brings the number of members to 79, four annually except five in 2008 and 2013–2014.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame inductions