Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

United States Senators from Alabama

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Dixon Hall Lewis, U.S. Senator (1802 - 1848)
    Dixon Hall Lewis (August 10, 1802 – October 25, 1848) was an American politician who served as a Representative and a Senator from Alabama. Life and career Lewis was born on Bothwick plant...
  • Donald Stewart, U.S. Senator
    Donald Wilbur Stewart, a Senator from Alabama; born in Munford, Talladega County, Ala., February 8, 1940; attended the Munford and Anniston public schools; graduated from the University of Alabama, Tus...
  • Francis Shelley White, U.S. Senator (1847 - 1922)
    Francis Shelley (Frank) White, a Senator from Alabama; born in Prairie, Noxubee County, Miss., March 13, 1847; attended the common schools and was tutored at home; during the Civil War served in the Co...
  • George Thomas Goldthwaite, US Senate (1809 - 1879)
    US Senator. Served as a United States Senator from Alabama from 1871 to 1877. Also served as Circuit Judge from 1843 to 1852, and Associate Justice of the Alabama State Supreme Court from 1852 to 185...
  • Richard Shelby, U.S. Senator
    Richard Craig Shelby (born May 6, 1934) is the senior United States Senator from Alabama. First elected to the Senate in 1986, he is the ranking member of the United States Senate Committee on Approp...

List of United States Senators from Alabama (from the U.S. Senate web site--no links)

Alabama was admitted to the Union on December 14, 1819, and elects senators to Class 2 and Class 3. Its Senate seats were declared vacant from March 1861 to July 1868 due to its secession from the Union during the American Civil War. Alabama's current senators are Jeff Sessions and Richard Shelby.

United States Senators from Alabama - Class 2

  • William R. King
  • Dixon Hall Lewis
  • Benjamin Fitzpatrick
  • Jeremiah Clemens
  • Clement Claiborne Clay
  • Willard Warner
  • George Goldthwaite
  • John Tyler Morgan
  • John H. Bankhead
  • B. B. Comer
  • James Thomas Heflin
  • John H. Bankhead II
  • George R. Swift
  • John Sparkman
  • Howell Heflin
  • Jeff Sessions

United States Senators from Alabama - Class 3

  • John Williams Walker
  • William Kelly
  • Henry H. Chambers
  • Israel Pickens
  • John McKinley
  • Gabriel Moore
  • John McKinley
  • Clement Comer Clay
  • Arthur P. Bagby
  • William R. King
  • Benjamin Fitzpatrick
  • Benjamin Fitzpatrick
  • George E. Spencer
  • George S. Houston
  • Luke Pryor
  • James L. Pugh
  • Edmund Pettus
  • Joseph F. Johnston
  • Francis S. White
  • Oscar Underwood
  • Hugo Black
  • Dixie Bibb Graves
  • J. Lister Hill
  • James Allen
  • Maryon Pittman Allen
  • Donald W. Stewart
  • Jeremiah Denton
  • Richard Shelby