Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Aloysius Baes (1948 - 2006)
    Aloysius “Ochie” Baes was a brilliant Filipino scientist who was active in the movement for democracy and freedom in the Philippines, an environmental expert who has been influential in offering a peop...
  • Ruby Kathryn Daniel (c.1902 - 1978)
    Ruby Kathryn Daniel, eye surgeon, was born in Duncanville, Texas, around 1902, the daughter of Robert Harry and Beulah May (Fite) Daniel. After attending Southern Methodist University and the Universit...
  • Rebecca Blank
    Rebecca M. "Becky" Blank (born September 19, 1955) is an American academic administrator and former government official who serves as the chancellor of the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Blank prev...
  • Michael Ira Sovern (1931 - 2020)
    Michael Ira Sovern (December 1, 1931 – January 20, 2020) was the 17th president of Columbia University. Prior to his death, he served as the Chancellor Kent Professor of Law at Columbia Law School. He ...
  • Harold Edward Stassen, 25th Governor of Minnesota (1907 - 2001)
    Edward Stassen (April 13, 1907 – March 4, 2001) was the 25th Governor of Minnesota from 1939 to 1943. After service in World War II, from 1948 to 1953 he was president of the University of Pennsylvania...

The University of Minnesota Twin Cities (Minnesota, U of M, or The U) is a public research university located in Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota. The Minneapolis and St. Paul campuses are approximately 5 miles (8.0 km) apart, and the Saint Paul campus is actually in neighboring Falcon Heights.[5] It is the oldest and largest campus within the University of Minnesota system and has the sixth-largest main campus student body in the United States, with 51,853 students in 2012–2013. The university is organized into 19 colleges and schools, and it has sister campuses in Crookston, Duluth, Morris, and Rochester.

Minnesota's athletic teams are known collectively as the Minnesota Golden Gophers and compete in the NCAA's Division I as members of the Big Ten Conference.

The original Minneapolis campus overlooked the Saint Anthony Falls on the Mississippi River, but it was later moved about a mile (1.6 km) downstream to its current location. The original site is now marked by a small park known as Chute Square at the intersection of University and Central avenues. The school shut down following a financial crisis during the American Civil War, but reopened in 1867 with considerable financial help from John S. Pillsbury. It was upgraded from a preparatory school to a college in 1869. Today, the University's Minneapolis campus is divided by the Mississippi into an East and West Bank.

The campus now has buildings on both river banks. The "East Bank", the main portion of the campus, covers 307 acres (124 ha). The West Bank is home to the University of Minnesota Law School, the Humphrey School of Public Affairs, the Carlson School of Management, various social science buildings, and the performing arts center. St. Paul campus is home to the College of Biological Sciences (CBS), the College of Design (CDes), the College of Food, Agriculture and Natural Resource Sciences (CFANS), and the veterinary program.