Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.
view all


  • Senator for Vermont Benjamin Franklin Fifield (1832 - 1918)
    Benjamin F. Fifield (November 18, 1832 - July 23, 1918) was a Vermont attorney. He served as United States Attorney for the District of Vermont (1869-1880) and chief counsel of the Central Vermont Ra...
  • Charles J. Bell, Governor (1845 - 1909)
    James Bell (March 10, 1845 – September 25, 1909), a Republican, was the 50th Governor of the U.S. state of Vermont from 1904 to 1906.Early life and educationHe graduated from Peacham Academy and at 17 ...
  • Governor John Boardman Page (1826 - 1885)
    Find A Grave Memorial Boardman Page (February 25, 1826 – October 24, 1885) was and American politician and the 30th Governor of Vermont from 1867 to 1869.BiographyPage was born in Rutland, Vermont, ...
  • Phineas Browne (1747 - 1818)
    Patriot of the American Revolution DAR Ancestor # A015798Service: MASSACHUSETTS Rank(s): CIVIL SERVICE Birth: 5-30-1747 WALTHAM MIDDLESEX CO MASSACHUSETTS Death: 6-6-1818 VERGENNES ADDISON CO VERMONT S...
  • Bvt. Brig. Gen. Edward H. Ripley (USA) (1839 - 1915)
    BRIGADIER GENERAL EDWARD HASTINGS RIPLEY (1839-1915)======Civil War Union Brevet Brigadier General. Served in the Civil War as Colonel and commander of the 9th Vermont Volunteer Infantry. He was brevet...

The Vermont General Assembly is the legislative body of the state of Vermont, in the United States. The Legislature is formally known as the "General Assembly," but the style of "Legislature" is commonly used, including by the body itself.

The General Assembly is a bicameral legislature, consisting of the 150-member Vermont House of Representatives and the 30-member Vermont Senate. Members of the House are elected by single and two-member districts. 58 districts choose one member, and 46 choose two, with the term of service being two years. The Senate includes 30 Senators, elected by 13 multi-member districts. It is the only state legislative body in the United States in which a third-party has had continuous representation and been consecutively elected alongside Democrats and Republicans.

The Vermont General Assembly meets at the Vermont State House in the state capital of Montpelier. Biennial terms commence on the first Wednesday following the first Monday in January (beginning in 1915; thus, terms commence in odd-numbered years).

L’Assemblée générale du Vermont (en langue anglaise, Vermont General Assembly, est le parlement de l'État américain du Vermont. L’assemblée législative est officiellement connue comme la « General Assembly, », mais le terme de « Legislature » est couramment utilisé par les résidents du Vermont. L'Assemblée générale est un système parlementaire bicamérisme de deux chambres distinctes à savoir la Chambre des représentants du Vermont (150 parlementaires) et le Sénat du Vermont (30 sénateurs).