Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.
view all


  • Bill de Blasio
    Bill de Blasio is the 109th Mayor of New York City. He served in the New York City Council (2001-09) and as the Public Advocate of New York City (2010-13). Bill de Blasio was born Warren Wilhelm, J...
  • Isaac Leggett Varian (1793 - 1864)
    Varian was a prominent Democrat and led Tammany Hall from 1835 until 1842. He was a member of the New York State Assembly (New York Co.) in 1831, 1832 and 1833; Mayor of New York City from 1839 to 1841...
  • Caleb Smith Woodhull (1792 - 1866)
    Caleb Smith Woodhull served as the Mayor of New York from May 1849 to January 1851. From Woodhull Genealogy, page 324: Caleb Smith Woodhull, (Hon.), sixth generation from Richard Wodhull I., Pate...
  • Robert Hunter Morris (1808 - 1855)
    Robert Hunter Morris (February 15, 1808 in New York – October 24, 1855 in New York City) was an attorney and Mayor of New York. He was elected to the Supreme Court of New York in 1852. As Po...
  • Ambrose Cornelius Kingsland (1804 - 1878)
    Ambrose Cornelius Kingsland (May 24, 1804 – October 13, 1878) was a wealthy sperm oil merchant who served as mayor of New York from 1851 to 1853. In 1851 he initiated the legislation that even...


This project seeks to pull together all the mayors of New York, throughout the city's history. This includes the Dutch, English, and American periods in the history of the city. The ultimate purpose is to provide a ‘genealogical backbone’ for all the families that have been involved in the formation and development of the city.


The birth of the city of New York is formally considered to be the year 1625. The island of Manhattan was explored by Henry Hudson in 1609, but it took a few years before the Dutch West India Company brought settlers to the new lands. The year 1625 coincides with the construction of Fort Amsterdam (near current Battery Park). A year later, the island was formally bought from the native Lenape Indians. Its southern tip was called New Amsterdam. In 1653, New Amsterdam was formally incorporated as a city – and the first mayors were appointed. During the Dutch rule of the city, there were two or three mayors at the same time – just like it was in the home country. Between 1664-1673, the English occupied New Amsterdam. Interestingly, they encouraged the original settlers to continue and run the city’s affairs, and one mayor was even an original Dutch settler. For about two years, the Dutch re-occupied the city, but in 1674 (Treaty of Westminster), the Dutch province of New Netherland became the English province of New York. Britain continued to rule the province – and the northern Americas – until the Declaration of Independence in 1776. After military defeat, Britain recognized the independence of the American colonies. In 1788, the old colonies ratified a common constitution and the United States of America were born. In 1898, Staten Island (Richmond County), Brooklyn (Kings County), Queens (Queens County), The Bronx (Bronx County), and Manhattan (New York County) were consolidated into New York City, with one mayor.

Mayors of New York

Dutch Period - New Amsterdam

English Period - New York

Dutch Period - New Orange

English Period - New York


United States


Back to the main USA portal