Started by Erica Howton on Thursday, May 26, 2016
Problem with this page?

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Related Projects:

Showing 1-30 of 35 posts
5/26/2016 at 3:21 PM

Can someone help? As a profile manager I received this email:

"It says only a curator is allowed to make changes in this locked Profile. I would like to change the years of birth & death to : c. 794-872"

Tagging

Per Anders Dencker
Private User
Alex Moes

Private User
5/26/2016 at 3:34 PM

I think that would be a good idea, and why not also change the place of death, it's unknown, but more likely to be Ireland than Sweden.

5/26/2016 at 3:49 PM

Erica Howton

Please do not.

The suggested death date of 872 is actually the death date of Ivarr Gudrodson, I am not sure where a birth date of 794 comes from but I would be interested to hear more as neither man's DOB is mentioned in any known source.

Please make sure that the user who contacted you is aware that Ivar the Boneless and Ivarr Gudrodson, king of Dublin are two different men and that while some people think they are the same that is not the case presented on Geni.

For a lot more detail see Ivarr Gudrodson, king of Dublin

5/26/2016 at 3:53 PM

I need to clean up the About as clearly merging has brought in confusion about the separation again.

I will delete Sweden as location of death as he is last attested to in England in 870 then never heard of again. I won't put Ireland in, Ivarr died in Dublin but there is no evidence the Ivar ever went to Ireland, unless Ivar and Ivarr are both the same person but again Geni does not reflect that (regardless of what my personal opinion might be).

Private User
5/26/2016 at 3:54 PM

You are funny Alex, I had to write a whole side in my effort to prove you wrong when you had set up a father to a son who died 250 years later in one of the Icelandic lines, that's something that I still laughing about.

5/26/2016 at 4:30 PM