Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Arapahoe County, Colorado

Project Tags

view all


Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Arapahoe County, Colorado.

Official Website


On August 25, 1855, the Kansas Territorial Legislature created a huge Arapahoe County to govern the entire western portion of the Territory of Kansas. The county was named for the Arapaho Nation who lived in the region.

In July 1858, gold was discovered along the South Platte River in Arapahoe County (in present-day Englewood). This discovery precipitated the Pike's Peak Gold Rush. Many residents of the mining region felt disconnected from the remote territorial governments of Kansas and Nebraska, so they voted to form their own Territory of Jefferson on October 24, 1859. The following month, the Jefferson Territorial Legislature organized 12 counties for the new territory, including a smaller Arapahoe County. Denver City served as the county seat of Arapahoe County.

The Jefferson Territory never received federal sanction, and when the State of Kansas was admitted to the Union on January 29, 1861, the mining regions temporarily reverted to unorganized territory. On February 28, 1861, Congress passed an act organizing the Territory of Colorado, using present-day borders. On November 1, 1861, the Colorado Territorial Assembly organized the 17 original counties of Colorado, including a new Arapahoe County. Arapahoe County originally stretched from the line of present-day Sheridan Boulevard 160 miles east to the Kansas border, and from the line of present-day County Line Road 30 miles north to the Parallel 40° North (168th Avenue). Denver City served as the county seat of Arapahoe County until 1902.

In 1901, the Colorado General Assembly voted to split Arapahoe County into three parts: a new consolidated City and County of Denver, a new Adams County, and the remainder of the Arapahoe County to be renamed South Arapahoe County. A ruling by the Colorado Supreme Court, subsequent legislation, and a referendum delayed the reorganization until November 15, 1902. Governor James Bradley Orman designated Littleton as the temporary county seat of South Arapahoe County. On April 11, 1903, the Colorado General Assembly changed the name of South Arapahoe County back to Arapahoe County. On November 8, 1904, Arapahoe County voters chose Littleton over Englewood by a vote of 1310 to 829 to be the permanent county seat.

Adjacent Counties

Cities, Towns & Communities

  • Aetna Estates
  • Aurora (Part)
  • Bennett
  • Bow Mar (Part)
  • Brick Center
  • Byers
  • Castlewood
  • Centennial
  • Cherry Creek
  • Cherry Hills Village
  • Columbine
  • Columbine Valley
  • Comanche Creek
  • Deer Trail
  • Dove Valley
  • Englewood
  • Foxfield
  • Four Square Mile
  • Glendale
  • Greenwood Village
  • Holly Hills
  • Inverness
  • Littleton
  • Peoria
  • Sheridan
  • Southglenn
  • Strasburg
  • Watkins



National Register of Historic Places

Highline Canal National Recreation Trail

Platte River Greenway National Trail

Genealogy Trails

Arapahoe County Marriage Index (1940-1965)