Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Caldwell County, North Carolina

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


  • Sgt. John Hugh Nelson, CSA (1841 - 1915)
    Bro. J.H. Nelson was born in Caldwell County May 19, 1841, and died May 22, 1915, aged 74 years and 3 days. He was a Confederate soldier and did not make a profession of faith until after the Civil war...
  • Source:
    Pvt. Elijah Coffey, (CSA) (1838 - 1891)
    Reference: FamilySearch Family Tree - SmartCopy : Oct 20 2016, 13:14:53 UTC Elijah Coffey was the second of eleven children born to William Coffey (1812-93) and his wife Margaret Robbins Coffey (18...
  • Pvt. Elbert Coffey, (CSA) (1837 - 1863)
    Elbert Coffey was the eldest of eleven children born to William Coffey and his wife Margaret Robbins. According to the Bible Record of the William Coffey family, Elbert was born "on Buffaloe [Creek]" i...
  • Thomas Coffey (1849 - 1901)
    Thomas was the seventh of eleven children born to William Coffey and Margaret "Polly" Robbins. The Coffey and the Robbins families had lived in the upper Yadkin River Valley (also known as Happy Valley...
  • Nathaniel Coffey (1796 - 1880)

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Caldwell County, North Carolina.

Official Website

The county was formed in 1841 from parts of Burke County and Wilkes County. It was named for Joseph Caldwell, presiding professor (1796–1797, 1799–1804) and the first president (1804–1812, 1816–1835) of the University of North Carolina.

A series of reductions in the county's territory followed. In 1847 parts of Caldwell County, Iredell County, and Wilkes County were combined to form Alexander County. In 1849 parts of Caldwell County, Ashe County, Wilkes County, and Yancey County were combined to form Watauga County. In 1861, parts of Caldwell County, Burke County, McDowell County, Watauga County, and Yancey County were combined to form Mitchell County. Finally, in 1911 parts of Caldwell County, Mitchell County, and Watauga County were combined to form Avery County.

Adjacent Counties

Towns, Villages & Communities

  • Blowing Rock
  • Cajah's Mountain
  • Cedar Rock
  • Collettsville
  • Gamewell
  • Granite Falls
  • Hudson
  • Lenoir (County Seat)
  • Northlakes
  • Patterson
  • Rhodhiss
  • Sawmills



Dula-Horton Cemetery

Hudson Cotton Mfg. Co.

Mariah's Chapel

Fort Defiance Plantation

Lenoir Family Papers

Blue Ridge Parkway (part)

Pisgah National Forest (part)