Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Crook County, Wyoming

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

Please add profiles of those who were born, lived or died in Crook County, Wyoming.

Official Website

Crook County was created by the legislature of the Wyoming Territory on December 8, 1875, from portions of Albany and Laramie Counties. It was organized in 1888.

Crook County was named for Brigadier General George Crook, an army commander during the Indian Wars. In 1890, Crook County lost territory when Weston County was created. Campbell County was formed with land ceded by Crook County in 1911.

Adjacent Counties

Towns & Communities

  • Aladdin
  • Alvin
  • Beulah
  • Colony
  • Devil's Tower
  • Farrall
  • Hulett
  • Moorcroft
  • Moskee
  • New Haven
  • Oshoto
  • Pine Haven
  • Sand Creek Crossing
  • Stroner
  • Sundance (County Seat)



Genealogy Trails

Black Hills Nat'l Forest (part)

Devil's Tower National Monument

Thunder Basin Nat'l Grassland (part)

Sundance State Bank

Wyoming Mercantile