Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Project Tags

view all


  • Antipope Natalius (b. - aft.200)
    Natalius (c. 199 – c. 200) was a figure in early church history who is sometimes considered to be the first antipope of Rome. The only information about Natalius is a quote from an unnamed earlier w...
  • Hippolytus of Rome (c.170 - c.235)
    Hippolytus of Rome (/həˈpɑːlɪtəs/, Greek: Ἱππόλυτος; c. 170 – c. 235 AD) was one of the most important second-third century Christian theologians, whose provenance, identity and corpus remain elusive...
  • Novatian (c.200 - 258)
    Novatian (c. 200–258) was a scholar, priest, and theologian. He is considered by the Catholic Church to have been an antipope between 251 and 258. Some Greek authors give his name as Novatus, who was...
  • Antipope Heraclius (b. - aft.310)
    Heraclius was a Roman who, in 310, opposed the election of Pope Eusebius, earning him the title of antipope. All that is known of Heraclius appears in an epitaph written by Pope Damasus I for Eusebiu...
  • Antipope Felix II (b. - 365)
    Antipope Felix, (died November 22, 365) was a Roman archdeacon in the 4th century who was installed irregularly in 355 as an antipope and reigned until 365 after Emperor Constantius banished the curr...

An antipope (Latin: antipapa) is a person who, in opposition to a sitting Bishop of Rome, makes a widely accepted claim to be the Pope. In the past, antipopes were typically those supported by a fairly significant faction of cardinals and kingdoms. Persons who claim to be the pope but have few followers, such as the modern sedevacantist antipopes, are not generally classified as antipopes, and therefore are ignored for regnal numbering.

  • c. 200 Natalius (Latin name: Natalius) later reconciled (in opposition to Zephyrinus)
  • 217–235 Saint Hippolytus (Latin name: Hippolytus) later reconciled with Pope Pontian (in opposition to Callixtus I, Urban I, Pontian)
  • 251–258 Novatian (Latin name: Novatianus) founder of Novatianism (in opposition to Cornelius, Lucius I, Stephen I and Sixtus II)
  • 309–310 Heraclius (Latin name: Heraclius) (in opposition to Eusebius)
  • 355–365 Felix II (Latin name: Felix secundus) installed by Roman Emperor Constantius II (in opposition to Liberius)
  • 366–367 Ursicinus (Latin name: Ursicinus) (in opposition to Damasus I)
  • 418–419 Eulalius (Latin name: Papa Eulalius) (in opposition to Boniface I)
  • 498–506 Laurentius (Latin name: Papa Laurentius) supported by Byzantine emperor Anastasius I (in opposition to Symmachus)
  • 530 Dioscorus (Latin name: Papa Dioscurus) (in opposition to Boniface II)
  • 687 Theodore (Latin name: Papa Theodorus) (in opposition to Sergius I)
  • 687 Paschal (I) (Latin name: Papa Paschalis) (in opposition to Sergius I)
  • 767–768 Constantine II (Latin name: Papa Constantinus secundus) (in oppositon to Stephen III)
  • 768 Philip (Latin name: Papa Philippus) installed by envoy of Lombard King Desiderius (in oppositon to Stephen III)
  • 844 John VIII (Latin name: Papa Joannes octavus) elected by acclamation (in opposition to Sergius II)
  • 855 Anastasius III Bibliothecarius (Latin name: Papa Anastasius tertius) (in opposition to Benedict III)
  • 903–904 Christopher (Latin name: Papa Christophorus) (in opposition to and between Leo V and Sergius III)
  • 974, 984–985 Boniface VII (Latin name: Papa Bonifacius septimus) (in opposition to and between Benedict VI and Benedict VII) (in opposition to and between John XIV and John XV)
  • 997–998 John XVI (Latin name: Papa Joannes sextus decimus) (born: John Filagatto) supported by Byzantine emperor Basil II (in opposition to Gregory V)
  • 1012 Gregory VI (Latin name: Papa Gregorius sextus) (in opposition to Benedict VIII)
  • 1058–1059 Benedict X (Latin name: Papa Benedictus decimus) (born: John Mincius) supported by the Counts of Tusculum (in oppostion to Nicholas II)
  • 1061–1064 Honorius II (Latin name: Papa Honorius secundus) (born: Pietro Cadalus) supported by Agnes, regent of the Holy Roman Empire (in opposition to Alexander II)
  • 1080, 1084–1100 Clement III (Latin name: Papa Clemens tertius) (born: Guibert of Ravenna) supported by Henry IV, Holy Roman Emperor (in opposition to Gregory VII, Victor III, Urban II and Paschal II)
  • 1100–1101 Theodoric (Latin name: Papa Theodoricus) successor to Clement III (in opposition to Paschal II)
  • 1101 Adalbert or Albert (Latin name: Papa Adalbertus) successor to Theodoric (in opposition to Paschal II)
  • 1105–1111 Sylvester IV (Latin name: Papa Sylvester quartus) (born: Maginulf) supported by Henry V, Holy Roman Emperor (in opposition to Paschal II)
  • 1118–1121 Gregory VIII (Latin name: Papa Gregorius octavus) (born: Maurice Burdanus) (in opposition to Gelasius II and Callixtus II)
  • 1124 Celestine II (Latin name: Papa Cœlestinus secundus) (Born: Thebaldus Buccapecus) (in opposition to Honorius II)
  • 1130–1138 Anacletus II (Latin name: Papa Anacletus secundus) (born: Pietro Pierleoni) (in opposistion to Innocent II)
  • 1138 Victor IV (Latin name: Papa Victor quartus) (born: Gregorio Conti) successor to Anacletus II (in opposistion to Innocent II)
  • 1159–1164 Victor IV (Laitn name: Papa Victor quartus) (born: Ottavio di Montecelio)supported by Frederick I, Holy Roman Emperor (in opposition to Alexander III)
  • 1164–1168 Paschal III (Latin name: Papa Paschalis tertius) (born Guido di Crema) (in opposition to Alexander III)
  • 1168–1178 Callixtus III (Latin name: Papa Callixtus tertius) (born: Giovanni of Struma) (in opposition to Alexander III)
  • 1179–1180 Innocent III (Latin name: Papa Innocentius tertius) (born: Lanzo of Sezza) (in opposition to Alexander III)
  • 1328–1330 Nicholas V (Latin name: Papa Nicolaus quintus) (born: Pietro Rainalducci) supported by Louis IV, Holy Roman Emperor (in opposition to John XXII)
  • 1378–1394 Clement VII (Latin name: Papa Clemens septimus) (born: Robert of Geneva) (in opposition to Urban VI and Boniface IX)
  • 1394–1423 Benedict XIII (Latin name: Papa Benedictus tertius decimus) (born: Pedro de Luna) (in opposition to Innocent VII, Gregory XII and Martin V)
  • 1409–1410 Alexander V (latin name: Papa Alexander quintus) (born Pietro Philarghi) (in opposition to Gregory XII)
  • 1410–1415 John XXIII (Latin name: Papa Joannes vicesimus tertius) (born: Baldassare Cossa) (in opposition to Gregory XII)
  • 1423–1429 Clement VIII (Latin name: Papa Clemens octavus) (born: Gil Sánchez Muñoz) (in opposition to Martin V)
  • 1424–1429 Benedict XIV (Latin name: Papa Benedictus quartus decimus) (born: Bernard Garnier) (in opposition to Martin V)
  • 1430–1437 Benedict XIV (Latin name: Papa Benedictus quartus decimus) (born: Jean Carrier) (in opposition to Eugene IV)
  • 1439–1449 Felix V (Latin name: Papa Fœlix quintus) (born: Duke Amadeus VIII of Savoy) elected by the Council of Basel (in opposition to Nicholas V)