Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Tennessee General Assembly

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all


  • Nicholas Henry Darnell (1807 - 1885)
    Nicholas Henry Darnell, Texas legislator and soldier, was born in Williamson County, Tennessee, on April 20, 1807, the youngest child of Nicholas and Nannie (Flewellen) Darnell. He was reared by his gr...
  • Robert Crudup (1801 - 1870)
    Robert Crudup was born August 10, 1801, to John and Rebecca (Temple) Crudup, and was raised in Wilson County, Tennessee. Crudup chose a life of extensive public service, serving as chief justice of McL...
  • Isaac Holman (1775 - 1835)
    Isaac Holman served as a member of the Tennessee Assembly in 1829–31. He had 5 sons and 5 daughters
  • Captain James Blackburn (CSA) (1837 - 1923)
    James Blackburn, soldier, was born in Maury County, Tennessee, in 1837 and moved with his family to Texas in 1856. He attended Alma Institute in Lavaca County for two years and then taught school until...
  • Micajah Louis Armstrong (1805 - 1893)
    M. L. Armstrong, Texas legislator, was born August 13, 1805, in the future Overton County, Tennessee, son of Col. James and Nancy Lanier Armstrong. Colonel Armstrong died when Micajah was young, leavin...

According to the Tennessee State Constitution of 1870, the General Assembly is a bicameral legislature and consists of a Senate of thirty-three members and a House of Representatives of ninety-nine members.

The representatives are elected to two-year terms; according to a 1966 constitutional amendment the senators are elected to four-year terms which are staggered, with the districts with even numbers being elected in the year of Presidential elections and the those in the districts with odd numbers being elected in the years of Tennessee gubernatorial elections.