Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

The Quincy Mine Fatalities

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all

Profiles

  • Matt Niemi (1880 - 1905)
    ACCIDENT NO. 30 - March 31st. - Matt K. Niemi, a trammer, employed underground at the Quincy Mine, was accidentally killed while riding to surface on the bail of a loaded skip. For some unknown reason,...
  • Vilho Juhonpoika Kaarlela (1881 - 1906)
    Piippola Birth Records 1880-1890 (MKO378-381) Sivu 23-24 ; SSHY Piippola Death Records 1890-1908 (MKO432-433) Sivu 104-105 1906 ; SSHY Piippola Communion Book 1888-1900 (MKO117-133) Sivu 231 Piippo...
  • Johan Pääkkönen (1851 - 1905)
    Kuhmo syntyneet 1845-1857 Sotkamo Communion book 1856-1865 page 334: Sumsa No 4 Laatikkala; Kansallisarkisto: / Viitattu 8.5.2020 Married on 27 Jul 1873. With his family in Sotkamo communion book 1...
  • Blaise Goetsch (1841 - 1891)
    Accident 17 occurred in the Quincy mine, March 28, 1891 Blossy Goethe, with two others, were at work in the 16th level, No. 3 shaft. Goethe left his partners for some unknown cause, and about one hour ...
  • Leander (2nd) Heikkila (1876 - 1918)
    With his parents and siblings in Oulainen parish communion book 1876-1881 Petäjäskoski no.13 Kortet: widowed mother remarried. With her mother, stepfather and siblings in Oulainen communion book 1891-1...

The Quincy Mine was founded in 1846 by the merger of the Northwest Mining Company and the Portage Mining Company. Due to poor communication between government offices, these two speculative mining companies had purchased the same tracts of land during the mining rush of the early 1840's. The directors met and decided to merge, with significant investment coming from Massachusetts (the town of Quincy, Massachusetts lent the mine its name). While many other copper mines were founded at the same time, the Quincy Mine became the most successful of the 1840s-era mines, and was the country's leading copper-producing mine from 1863 (when it exceeded the production of the Minesota Mine) through 1867 (after which it was exceeded by the Calumet and Hecla.)

The Quincy company expanded laterally along the lode by buying out adjacent properties. The company bought the Pewabic mine in 1891, the Mesnard and the Pontiac in 1897, and the Franklin mine in 1908.[10] This helped the mine survive longer than almost all other Keweenaw copper mining companies, except the Calumet and Hecla Mining Company and the Copper Range Company.

The Quincy Mine was known as "Old Reliable," as the Quincy Mining Company paid a dividend to investors every year from 1868 through 1920, and operated continously from 1848 to 1931.

Due to the increasing cost of mining at such great depth and the low price of copper during the depression years, the company ceased its underground mining activity in 1931. Government regulated copper pricing allowed the mine to open briefly during World War II, but the continuing low price of copper after September 1945 forced the company to confine its operations to reclamation work on older mill tailings and custom smelting work. Before closing on May 6, 1967, the Quincy reclamation plant recovered nearly one hundred million of refined copper during its twenty-two years of operation.

A total of 9 shafts were driven; 2 of these shafts, No. 2 and No. 6 reached 9,260 feet (2.82 km or 1.75 miles) along the dip of the deposit on a 55 degree decline.(measured vertically from the shaft collar, the depth is 6,200 feet.). No. 7 shaft is unique in that is was driven on a catenary curve. No. 2 shaft housed the largest steam powered hoist in the world, built in 1918. Produced by the Nordberg Mfg. Co., the 30' drum held 10,000' of 1 5/8" wire rope and it could hoist 10 ton skips at the rate of 3,200' per minute.

In 99 years of operation, Quincy produced 424,000 tons of native copper from the underground workings. A large amount of native silver was also recovered from the mine. Starting in 1947 and continuing through 1968, another 50,000 tons of copper was recovered from reclamation activities in Torch Lake.

An estimated total of 253 fatal accidents occured at Quincy in that 99 years.

This is a subproject of the Michigan Mine Fatalities

OLD QUINCY NO. 1

One of the original shafts, the "Old" Quincy No. 1 was in full operation by 1854. After the development on the Pewabic Lode and additional shafts were driven, this shaft was used only as a winze after 1874 and was eventually shut down in 1892. The location for this shaft is northeast of the No. 2, adjacent to the current Quincy Mine Gift Shop.

PEWABIC MINE A.K.A QUINCY NO. 6

An underground copper mine located north of Hancock, Michigan, and just north of the Quincy Mine. The Pewabic Mining Company was organized in 1853. For the first two years, work concentrated on opening prehistoric mining pits that traced an apparent amygdaloid bed. The first, and only, shaft Pewabic drove was driven on an incline following this bed. The shaft was located approximately 1,900 feet north of the Quincy No. 2 shaft. The mineralization on the "Pewabic Lode" at the Mine was not as rich as it was on Quincy's property. However, the company did manage to pay dividends amounting to $1 million. In 1884, management allowed the mining charter to lapse without renewal, and the company was forced to close. In 1891, Quincy Mining Company purchased the property and renamed the shaft Quincy No. 6, which became famous for its fabulous shafthouse. A total of approximately 27 million pounds of refined copper was produced between 1855 and 1884.

MESNARD MINE A.K.A QUINCY NO. 8

An underground copper mine located approximately one mile north of the No. 2 Shaft house. Originally organized as the Mesnard Mining Company in 1859, it was taken over by the Pewabic Mining Company in 1876 and later sold to Quincy Mining Company in 1897, thus becoming Quincy No. 8 Shaft. The shaft was extended to the 86th level, or approximately 8,600 feet on the incline (6,000 feet vertical). Between 1863 and 1877 the mine produced 84,000 pounds of refined copper. In the late 1970s and early 1980s, the Homestake Mining Company dewatered the shaft to the 22nd level to explore for additional copper ore, but this proved unsuccessful and the shaft was allowed to refill with water. Today the mine is owned by the Quincy Mine Hoist Association and is therefore on private property.

PONTIAC MINE A.K.A QUINCY NO. 9

Very little is known of the Pontiac Mining Company. It was organized in 1859 to explore and mine the Pewabic and Franklin Lodes between the Albany and Boston and Mesnard Mine properties where ancient pits were discovered. It was reported that good barrel copper and masses were found in the shaft, but the overall results were not promising. The company was bought by Quincy in 1897 and work was started on a new shaft in 1908 which was to become the Quincy No. 9 shaft; however, the great strike of 1913 forced Quincy to abandon sinking this shaft. A very small rock pile exists from this shaft sinking in 1908. Some copper can be found. source: https://www.mindat.org/loc-125489.html

QUINCY MINE FATALITIES