Started by Private User on Monday, February 1, 2016
Problem with this page?

Participants:

Profiles Mentioned:

Related Projects:

Showing 1-30 of 251 posts
Private User
2/1/2016 at 9:03 PM

Why is it that people from Norse or Roman mythologies are labelled fictitious and ties are cut from any real people, but many people support connecting characters from Judeo-Christian mythology? Adam is listed as my 81st great grandfather. Many of the ancient profiles in my line are unsourced, but I have no experience with genealogy that far back (I am fairly confident on the Italian, Spanish, and Moroccan part of my line, but don't know anything about ancient Arabian genealogy). I'm not saying we have to delete these profiles, but we should keep them separate from real people, for the sake of those interested in genealogy.

2/1/2016 at 9:09 PM

Because religious people would throw a tantrum if you labelled biblical figures fictitious

2/1/2016 at 9:18 PM

I think both the Chinese and Jewish legendary genealogies are included in the World Family Tree because for both of these there are human links to them. It is easy to say, "all of this is a fable," less easy to actually separate fact from fiction. Many of the people in these genealogies actually existed (or at least there is historical evidence for them, e.g. King David) so it is not so simple to separate things.

My own view is that there is enough work to do in the last 200 years that no one who doesn't want to should be bothered by what goes on in the ancient tree. Let the people who really care about it work on it, and if you really do know enough to make a correction, contact the managers and get it done.

I am in the process of trying to disprove and severing some of my lines that go back. You can do that also.

Randy

2/1/2016 at 11:49 PM