Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Congressional Gold Medal

« Back to Projects Dashboard

view all


  • Walter Crenshaw, Jr. (1909 - 2016)
    Walter Crenshaw, Jr., the oldest living documented original Tuskegee Airmen, passed away Oct. 7, 2016, at the Veterans Hospital in Los Angeles. He was 106-years-old. As a member of the famed group, h...
  • Shimon Peres, 9th President of the State of Israel שמעון פרס (1923 - 2016)
    Statesman, Nobel Prize Laureate, Former Prime Minister, and Ninth President of the State of Israel . שמעון פרס (2 באוגוסט 1923, כ' באב ה'תרפ"ג – 28 בספטמבר 2016, כ"ה באלול ה'תשע"ו) היה פוליטיקאי ואיש...
  • Lt. Col Spann Watson (1916 - 2010)
    Lt. Col Spann Watson (August 14, 1916 – April 15, 2010) was a Tuskegee Airman serving in World War II. He flew over 30 missions for the famed squadron over North Africa, Italy and Southern Europe. On...
  • Norman Ernest Borlaug (1914 - 2009)
    Norman Ernest Borlaug (March 25, 1914 – September 12, 2009) was an American biologist, humanitarian and Nobel laureate who has been called "the father of the Green Revolution", "agriculture's greatest ...
  • Simon Wiesenthal (1908 - 2005)
    Simon Wiesenthal, KBE (December 31, 1908 – September 20, 2005) was an Austrian Holocaust survivor who became famous after World War II for his work as a Nazi hunter. After four and a half years in th...

Congressional Medal of Honor

Not to be confused with 'Medal of Honor' or 'Congressional Medal'

A Congressional Gold Medal is an award bestowed by the United States Congress; the Congressional Gold Medal and the Presidential Medal of Freedom are the highest civilian awards in the United States. It is awarded to persons "who have performed an achievement that has an impact on American history and culture that is likely to be recognized as a major achievement in the recipient's field long after the achievement." American citizenship is not a requirement. As of 2013 four people had been awarded more than one gold medal: Winfield Scott (1814 for War of 1812 and 1848 for Mexican–American War), Zachary Taylor (1846, 1847, and 1848 for Mexican-American War), Lincoln Ellsworth (1928 and 1936 for polar exploration), and Hyman G. Rickover (1958 for the "Nuclear Navy" and 1982 for his entire career).


Since the American Revolution, Congress has commissioned gold medals as its highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions. The medal was first awarded in 1776 by the Second Continental Congress to General George Washington. Although the first recipients were military figures who participated in the American Revolution, the War of 1812 and the Mexican-American War, Congress broadened the scope of the medal to include actors, authors, entertainers, musicians, pioneers in aeronautics and space, explorers, lifesavers, notables in science and medicine, athletes, humanitarians, public servants, and foreign recipients.[2] The medal normally is awarded to persons, but in 1979 the American Red Cross became the only organization to be honored with a gold medal.

Process of awarding

The Gold Medal and the Presidential Medal of Freedom are generally considered to carry the same level of prestige (though significantly fewer Gold Medals have been awarded). The chief difference between the two is that the Freedom Medal is personally awarded by the President of the United States, and Congressional Gold Medals are awarded by Acts of Congress (Congress may authorize the President to present the award).

Per committee rules, legislation bestowing a Congressional Gold Medal upon a recipient must be co-sponsored by two-thirds of the membership of both the House of Representatives and the Senate before their respective committees (the House Committee on Financial Services and the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs) will consider it.

A Congressional Gold Medal is designed by the United States Mint to specifically commemorate the person and achievement for which the medal is awarded. Medals are therefore different in appearance, and there is no standard design. Congressional Gold Medals are considered non-portable, meaning that they are not meant to be worn on a uniform or other clothing, but rather displayed. In rare instances, miniature versions have been made for wear on clothing, suspended from a ribbon; for Lieutenant Frank Newcomb, for the men of the First Byrd Expedition of 1928-1930, and for the men who completed the first transatlantic flight in May 1919. Often, bronze versions of the medals are struck for sale.

The Congressional Gold Medal is distinct from the Medal of Honor, a military decoration for extreme bravery in action, and from the Congressional Space Medal of Honor, presented by NASA for extraordinary accomplishment in United States space exploration.