Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire - Main Page

Project Tags

view all


Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire - Main Page

Historic County of Scotland

This is the Umbrella project for Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire
// //
// to People Connected to Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire//

People Connected to Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire
Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire - Famous People
Historic Buildings of Morayshire, Scotland
Morayshire - Monumental Inscriptions, Cemeteries and Graveyards

Still to come

  • Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire Genealogical Resources
  • Moray, Morayshire or Elginshire Historic Page
  • Administrative centre Elgin
  • Chapman County Code - MOR
  • Gaelic Name Moireibh
  • Famous for:
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest
  • Auchindoun Castle
  • Ballindalloch Castle
  • Balvenie Castle
  • Distilleries - Benromach, Glen Grant, Glen Moray, Glenfarclas, Glenfiddich, Glenlivet, Macallan, Strathisla,
  • Duffus Castle
  • Lochindorb Castle
  • Area 840 square miles (475.9 Sq. Miles) (1890)
  • Population
  • Succeeded by
  • Pre 1890 the county was called Morayshire. From 1890-1918 it was Elginshire. 1918-1975 it was (the County of) Moray. 1975-Present it is Moray.

Morayshire, the County of Moray (or Elginshire) is a Land registration county of Scotland. The County of Moray is also the lieutenancy area of Moray. It is bounded in the North by the Moray Firth, East and South East by Banff, South West by Inverness, and West by Nairn. It was anciently part of a province that included the county of Nairn and a large part of the county of Banff.

The principal rivers

  • Spey,
  • Lossie,
  • Findhorn;

Civil Parishes

See also

Civil parish areas have been largely unchanged since the 19th century.

In 1861 there were 15 civil parishes entirely in Moray:

  1. Alves
  2. Birnie
  3. Dallas
  4. Drainie
  5. Duffus
  6. Edinkillie
  7. Elgin
  8. Forres
  9. Kinloss
  10. Knockando
  11. Lhanbryde
  12. Rafford
  13. Speymouth
  14. Spynie
  15. Urquhart

In 1861 Morayshire shared various civil parishes with three surrounding counties. Five with Banffshire:

  1. Bellie Fochabers
  2. Boharm
  3. Inveraven
  4. Keith, Moray
  5. Rothes

three with Inverness-shire:

  1.   Abernethy
  2. Cromdale
  3. Duthill

and one with Nairnshire:

  1. Dyke

The first map shows parishes post 1890. These Maps are a work in progress - I am researching further to establish which Parishes should be shown - very confusing!! CJB 28 Sep 2013

The second map illustrates parishes as they were in 1890.


OSA/NSA - Old and New Statistical Accounts

Towns and villages of the county

  • Archiestown
  • Burghead
  • Craigellachie
  • Fochabers
  • Grantown-on-Spey
  • Hopeman
  • Kellas
  • Longmorn
  • Lossiemouth
  • Mosstodloch

If you have Morayshire connections please join the project.

Getting Involved

Feel free to follow, request to collaborate

To join the project use the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page.


Geni's Project Plaza
Working with Projects
Wicked Wiki
Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance.
See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!