Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Yorkshire - Main Page

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Top Surnames

view all


This is the Umbrella Project Page for Yorkshire, England.

The emblem of Yorkshire is the white rose of the English royal House of York - image right

Related Projects

Please do not link profiles to this project - its purpose is to inform!

See People Connected to Yorkshire


  • Administrative centre York
  • County Flower - Harebell
  • People from Yorkshire are called - Yorkshire Men
  • Famous for:
  • Yorkshire Pudding
  • Yorkshire Terriers
  • Cricket
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest
  • Castle Howard
  • Newby Hall
  • Nunnington Hall

Yorkshire (abbreviated Yks.) is a county of historic origin in Northern England. It is the largest English county. It was originally divided into 3 divisions called Ridings, or "thridings" (Third parts. North, east and West Ridings between them account for about an eighth of England's land area.

The county of Yorkshire is the Shire of the City of York or York's Shire. "York" comes from the Viking name for the city, Jórvík. "Shire" is from Old English, scir, and appears to be allied to shear as it is a division of the land. York comes originally from the latinized Celtic Eboracum, meaning the estate of Eburos; to this was added the wic (dwelling) termination of the Angles, producing Eoforwic. This was rendered as Jorvik by the Danes to become York. The name was first recorded in 1050 as Eoferwicucir.

Areas within Yorkshire are widely considered to be among the greenest in England, due to the vast stretches of unspoiled countryside in the Yorkshire Dales and North York Moor

Historically, the northern boundary of Yorkshire was the River Tees, the eastern boundary was the North Sea coast and the southern boundary was the Humber Estuary and River Don and River Sheaf. The western boundary meandered along the western slopes of the Pennine Hills to again meet the River Tees.[ It is bordered by several other historic counties in the form of County Durham, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Cheshire, Lancashire and Westmorland.

Yorkshire is drained by several rivers. In western and central Yorkshire the many rivers empty their waters into the River Ouse which reaches the North Sea via the Humber Estuary. The most northerly of the rivers in the Ouse system is the River Swale, which drains Swaledale before passing through Richmond and meandering across the Vale of Mowbray. Next, draining Wensleydale, is the River Ure, which joins the Swale east of Boroughbridge. The River Nidd rises on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and flows along Nidderdale before reaching the Vale of York.

Yorkshire includes the North York Moors and Yorkshire Dales National Parks, and part of the Peak District National Park. Nidderdale and the Howardian Hills are designated Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Spurn Point, Flamborough Head and the coastal North York Moors are designated Heritage Coast areas, and are noted for their scenic views with rugged cliffs such as the jet cliffs at Whitby, the limestone cliffs at Filey and the chalk cliffs at Flamborough Head. Moor House - Upper Teesdale, most of which is part of the former North Riding of Yorkshire, is one of England's largest national nature reserves.

The Ridings of Yorkshire

Left the Riding Divisions; Right Today's divisions


1. North Riding

Stretching across the county from the Pennines to the North Sea is generally speaking predominantly pastoral.

Towns in North Riding

(See Parish Map Below)

  • Capital - Northallerton.
  • Hawes
  • Hemsley
  • Middlesborough
  • Pickering
  • Scarborough
  • Whitby
  • Bowed
  • Guisborough
  • Marske
  • Yarm

2. West Riding

Running from the Pennines Southeast, West Riding is generally industrial.

Towns in West Riding

(See Parish Map Below)

  • Capital - Wakefield
  • Harrogate
  • Huddersfield
  • Leeds
  • Pontefract
  • Sheffield
  • Skipton
  • Barnoldswick
  • Barnsley
  • Dewsbury
  • Earby
  • Goole
  • Rotherham
  • Saddleworth
  • Sedburgh
  • Selby
  • Todmorden (Partly in Lancashire)

3. East Riding

Running between North and West Riding to the Humber Estuary, East Riding is primarily given over to arable farming.

Towns in East Riding

(See Parish Map Below)

  • Capital - Beverley
  • Kingston-upon-Hull (otherwise known as Hull)
  • Bridlington
  • Filey
  • Hedon
  • Pocklington

If you have Yorkshire connections please join the project.

To participate in any project

- you do need to first be a collaborator - so please join the project using the request link under "actions" at the top right of the page. Visit Geni Wikitext, Unicode and images which gives a great deal of assistance. See the discussion Project Help: How to add Text to a Project - Starter Kit to get you going!

How to Participate

  • If you have any queries please start a discussion linked to this project. (See the menu top right).
  • Please add related projects to the menu on the right.
  • If you have links to related web pages that would be of interest to others please add them in the relevant section at the bottom of the page. In order to do this use the drop down menu at the top left of the screen and Join the Project. If this option is not available to you then contact a collaborator and ask to be added to the project. As a collaborator you will be able to edit this page.
  • Add any documents of interest using the menu at the top right of the page, and then add a link to the document in the text under the heading below. If you do not know how to do this please contact one of the other collaborators to assist you.


Please do not add the profiles of Yorkshire born ancestors to this project. See People Connected to Yorkshire 1. North Riding Parish Map

from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 1984.

See - open full view. 2. West Riding Parish Maps

West Riding a)

See - open full view.

West Riding b)

See - open full view 3. East Riding Parish Map

See - open full view.

Resources - GenUKI - Yorkshire - Yorkshire Parish Registers