Start My Family Tree Welcome to Geni, home of the world's largest family tree.
Join Geni to explore your genealogy and family history in the World's Largest Family Tree.

Die Groot Trek / The Great Trek na Pietermaritzburg

« Back to Projects Dashboard

Project Tags

view all 30


  • Marthinus Phillippus Cornelis Ferreira, b7c1d8 (1811 - 1875)
    Onder die Voortrekkers was daar skynbaar slegs een Ferreira, naamlik Marthinus Stephanus Ferreira (gebore 1810), kleinseun van Ignatius Wilhelm Ferreira (c.1751-c.1781) en vader van die latere generaal...
  • President Marthinus Wessel Pretorius (1819 - 1901)
    Information of death: Voortrekker to Natal on 1 OCT 1838. The son of the famous Voortrekker leader Andries Pretorius, Marthinus Wessel Pretorius (17 September 1819 - 19 May 1901) was the first ...
  • Pieter Mauritz Retief (1780 - 1838)
    Voortrekker leader to Natal before OCT 1838, murdered by Zulu King Dingane [on 6 February 1838]. Bron: Pretorius in Natal by B. J. LIEBENBERG [ ] Added by Y. DROST -----------------------------...
  • Erasmus Smit, SV/PROG 3 (1778 - 1863)
    Bron- Voortrekkerbegrafplaas Pietermaritzburg - Louis Eksteen pagina 35 - 36 Baken 20 van die Voortrekkerbegrafplaas in Pietermaritzburg bevat die grafte van 2 van die bekendste figure van die Groot ...


Pietermaritzburg (pēˌtərmărˈĭtsbûrgˌ) [key], city, part and seat of Msunduzi local municipality and capital of KwaZulu-Natal prov., E South Africa, in the foothills of the Drakensberg Range. The city is an administrative and industrial center. Its products include wattle bark extract, furniture, footwear, chocolate, and cloth. Motor vehicles are assembled in the city, and iron ore is mined nearby.

Pietermaritzburg was founded in 1838 and named for Piet Retief and Gert Maritz, Boer (Afrikaner) leaders of the Great Trek (see Trek, Great). The Boers made it capital of the short-lived (1839–43) Voortrekker Republic of Natal. The city became capital of Natal when the province was annexed by Great Britain in 1843. In 1880 a railroad to Durban was opened. From 1994 to 2004 the city was the co-capital of KwaZulu-Natal with Ulundi.